Yay! I’m the Old Maid!

Why Your Happiness all Depends on How you Look at Things

--

Freedom!!!

When I was a kid, I’d hear stories of the adventures of my free-spirited Aunt Carol. Aunt Carol lived in southern California, which seemed pretty far away and exotic to us kids in the gray, frozen bleakness of Rochester, NY.

A few times in my childhood, Aunt Carol came to visit us back east. I was enchanted by her. She wore long hippie dresses in wild patterns. She rolled her own cigarettes. She was a massage therapist at a nudist camp. She was so easy to love.

She never hesitated to talk to us kids in a natural sort of way. The age differences just didn’t seem to matter.

Her kookiness seemed to aggravate my father, and I suspect that made me admire her ever more.

And why is the Old Maid relevant?

If you don’t remember, or if you never played it, Old Maid is a card game. You pass cards around the table and hope to collect pairs. The entire deck is made of pairs except for one single card, the Old Maid…

--

--

Dr. Christine Bradstreet
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Editor of Change Your Mind Change Your Life and Success On The Spectrum. I wrote a book to help you be happy. Get yours at www.happyeverafter.info