How My Crypto Cold Wallet Was Hacked

And it Was All My Fault

Hotse Langeraar
Changeling Lore
Published in
3 min readNov 11, 2021

--

Image by Javad Rajabzade from Pixabay

Stellar Transfer

I t started with a transfer of XLM (Stellar) from my Trezor cold wallet to an exchange. The feature of any XLM transfer is that a specific memo has to be included; otherwise, the transaction may get lost, sometimes irretrievably.

I this particular transfer, I included the memo, but somehow it was not the correct one. And subsequently, the transfer did not hit my XLM account at the exchange and left me in panic.

My communications with the exchange trying to find the trade left me even more discouraged. I received little or no help, my emails received no answer, and I feared my token (and funds) were lost.

So after about ten days, I decided to reach out to the exchange via Reddit. I wrote a quick message asking them for help finding and recouping the transfer. And support came instantly.

The Official Moderator

A n official exchange moderator reached out in a private message and explained I needed to synchronize my accounts. Not familiar with this procedure, I said, ok …

And this is where I became a moron — I’d read about people acting like I was about to and always thought how stupid and moronic they were. I’m officially one…

--

--

Hotse Langeraar
Changeling Lore

Born in Europe, moved to the USA and my dreams came true. From commodities to investment banker, I became an author. I’m still dreaming and write about change.