An Impromptu Poetry Prompt

A tanka series for my friend and yours Claire Kelly

--

Author’s Photo

Twig lady doing
Summersaults around the moon
Pegasus watches
Her synchronous gymnastics
Before three eyes morph the horse

Flying elephant
With the neck of a giraffe
Turns to unicorn
All while snake coiling the branch
Looks on so curiously

Knows Eve did not sin
All Adam sought was knowledge
And her company
Their souls birthed from Tree of Life
To learn and have sex on Earth

When I see a great moon, particularly during the day, I often take out my phone and snap a picture to send to Claire Kelly to brighten my friend’s day. At 10x magnification, I couldn’t hold the phone steady enough, so I went under a tree, braced the phone against the trunk and this shot emerged. When I…

--

--

Marcus aka Gregory Maidman
ChannSpirations and Coincidences

Living 17,043rd human life. I am Marcus (universal name) or you may call me Greg; a deep thinker; an explorer of ideas and the mind.