How To Live Well When You Have To Be Under Evaluation All The Time

You not always can count on luck…

--

by Vidar Nordli-Mathisen on Unsplash.

“Success, luck, justice.” Do you think these three things always walk together? No, they don't, and, maybe, they never will. E.g., Janis Joplin was a fantastic artist (and she deserved all the success she had), but she died at the age of 27. Do you think it’s fair? No, it’s not. Almost nothing is.

The reason why I’m writing about Janis Joplin under such a big title, “How To Live Well When You Have To Be Under Evaluation All The Time?,” is because I don’t know if there is a God willing to give a Mercedes Benz (or anything) to anyone, and I think a good part of us would like to know what to do about it.

I don't want any Mercedes, that’s not the point here. The point is “what to do when you live in an unfair world that holds almost no respect for logic?”

I began to think about this when I saw a singer on The Voice (the Russian version) singing Joplin’s most famous song “Mercedes Benz.” He did great! He sang it in a gospel style, and everyone loved it.

When he begins his performance we can see what we see in almost every The Voice singer, he is praying for success!

It’s like he was really praying for a Mercedes Benz! He didn't even use the first lines of the song “I’d like to do a song of a great social and poetic import,” and I’m pretty sure almost everyone listening to it forgot about the “social and poetic import.” That’s why I wrote an article here on Medium with the subtitle, “Janis’s last message never was so important as it is today,” and I got curated.

The jury loved Arytyunov’s performance. Although, it didn’t happen with Zara Okro (such an incredible performer too!). So, I kept thinking: which is the best way to deal with luck? If you start to run, luck can easily make you fall… What to do?

The answer is: there is no right answer to “what to do about it?”(!) Do what you want, and use your best judgment.

--

--

Pedro Barbalho fka Alex P. Bird
ChannSpirations and Coincidences

Brazilian postgraduate student in logic and metaphysics. Science fiction writer and cinephile. pedro.barbalho@ufrj.br