There’s No Shame in Contemplating Suicide

Philosopher and multiple attempt survivor Clancy Martin advises you can kill yourself if you want but you don’t have to do it today

--

File ID: 64526329 by lightsource licensed from depositphotos.com

I just read Arpad Nagy’s vulnerable, beautifully written, and goosebump-raising story of his attempted suicide three decades ago, his experience with divine intervention saving his life, and the earth angels who completed the job by getting him home safely from Miami to British Columbia despite having almost no money for gas and food and a car that would break down well before arriving safely at home.

I left a few comments, including (edited for this post):

You have nothing about which to feel ashamed or guilty. If there’s one thing I wish anyone reading your wonderful essay and this comment will take away, it’s this — it’s ok to have suicidal thoughts. I say that as someone who lost a dear friend to suicide and who from time to time writes my thoughts on suicide in the hopes of preventing attempts.

I fought with a close friend recently. She thinks suicide is everyone’s right. I said yes, but not every right should be exercised.

Yet, there is no shame in thinking about it. This is a realization I had sometime early this year through synchronicity.

--

--

Marcus aka Gregory Maidman
ChannSpirations and Coincidences

Living 17,043rd human life. I am Marcus (universal name) or you may call me Greg; a deep thinker; an explorer of ideas and the mind.