Alone in the Snow by Paul Mansfield using MidJourney

TRANSGRESSIVE FICTION and AI

My Last Icy Breath

A harrowing tale of the struggle for survival stranded on an Arctic mountain during a brutal snowstorm. As his strength dwindles, circumstances force him to confront the reality of his mortality and accept the reality of dying alone in the frozen wilderness.

--

The frigid Artic winds swirled like a pack of wolves around me, biting into my skin, stealing away my warmth. The snow fell gently at first, then danced like a dervish around me, blinding me and whipping me like an apostate returning to the fold after succumbing to temptation.

I knew I was taking my last icy breaths. The merciless blizzard would soon claim me as its prize. But even as my consciousness faded, a glimmer of hope appeared in the distance, a solitary light flickering like a campfire in the dark, beckoning me to hold on just a little while longer.

Alas, ‘twas only the twinkling of a star.

Alternative Tellings

To add an interesting (at least interesting to me) twist to my story, I asked ChatGPT to write a similar short story describing an Arctic mountain. The twist I asked was for the writing…

--

--

Paul Mansfield
CHAOS 99

A mage of the pen, whose magic springs from the telling of tales. An iconoclast who promotes all fiction, but whose love is Transgressive Fiction.