The Short Sale · Chapter 4 · In the Conference Room

--

“The Short Sale: A Disgruntled Former Homeowner Seeks Revenge for Losing His House” by Miguel A. Calles
The Short Sale book cover

Mike walked into the conference room only to find it empty. He scratched his head in confusion. He walked to one of the chairs and put his palm on the bottom of the seat. “The seat is still warm. They must have finished not too long ago,” he said to himself.

“Hey, Mike, sorry we missed you,” someone said behind him.

Mike turned around, surprised, and yelled, “Bill!” After catching his breath, he asked, “What happened?”

“The meeting’s over.”

“But, I was only 10 minutes late? How could you have finished already?”

“We sent out an updated meeting notice at the end of yesterday. The customer asked the chief engineer to attend a meeting. We had to move the meeting earlier. Didn’t you see it in your inbox?”

“I was running late this morning and haven’t checked my email yet.”

“That’s unfortunate. You missed a good meeting. Well, I noticed I forgot my USB drive and just came back to get it. I need to run. I have another meeting to prepare for.”

“Wait! Before you go, could I get a quick summary? Am I still able to be part of the red team?”

“Well, Mike. No. I’m sorry, but you missed your chance. The meeting agenda said we would conduct the tabletop exercise and…

--

--

Miguel A. Calles · Serverless CISO
Chapter by Chapter

Author of Mastering AWS Serverless · AWS Community Builder · Specializing in CMMC, SOC 2, serverless & engineering.