Who Are Your Heroes?

“You can tell a lot about a person by who his or her heroes are.” — Steve Jobs, The Innovation Secrets of Steve Jobs

Nicole Sudjono
Characters in Depth
3 min readApr 26, 2020

--

Photo by Steven Libralon on Unsplash

People tell me that you can tell a lot about a person judging from the music that they listen to. I don’t know about you all, but for me, I still find it difficult to do that. Sure, it tells that if you like disco music, then you are a party animal or upbeat music makes you happy, etc.

But I think that depends on your mood on what you want to listen to currently. I’ll take an example from my friend who likes video games original soundtracks, sure that means he likes that particular music, but then what else can you tell about them? And he listened to that music when he is feeling like it before he found other music genres to listen to.

So, although it gives some insight into who that person may be, I think it’s still vague on what their personalities are. This is something one can find out if they consult a psychologist, I don’t think you can find those traits in music.

That is until I read this book called The Innovation Secrets of Steve Jobs. I still recommend you to go to a psychologist if you are still confused about yourself, but Steve Job said,

“You can tell a lot about a person by who his or her heroes are.” — Steve Jobs, The Innovation Secrets of Steve Jobs

And I think this is actually a good way to tell about a person. Whether they like a fictional character or a real person, you can still tell a lot about that person.

Here is an example, I have friends who love the Harry Potter series and she would always buy merchandise that is from House Slytherin.

As I observed her character, it’s not because she is evil that makes her like that house.

So what is she then?

According to Pottermore and from JK Rowling’s books, each house have specific behaviors and traits when aligning their students. So if you consider yourself brave like Harry, you’d be sorted to Gryffindor.

So, as I observe my friend, I find that some of the traits are in those. Smart, determined to win, and sometimes cunning. Still not all the traits are absolute, however, when two out of three behaviors match those, I think you can tell a lot from those.

Similar to the characters and the house in the books and movies, they seem to be in the lead all the time, if it weren’t for Harry’s heroic act. Sure, they are sometimes mean, however, they are mean because they prefer to keep the focus on more important things like their academics so that they can always be at the top, an example can be seen from Severus Snape.

But then again, everyone admires a person for different reasons. For instance, my friend liked Severus Snape because he amid fear to his students and always able to be in control. However, I like Severus Snape because he is actually loyal.

So when you ask someone who they admire, you have to ask them why. Some people like Steve Jobs because they made a difference to the world or because he is creative. People have their reasons why they admire someone.

So as you can see here, every person admires someone for certain reasons. I think the best way is to ask them, who is their hero, and why. That way, you can learn a few things about that person.

--

--