‘The Grand Budapest Hotel’: Movie Review

Visually appealing, narratively appalling

Gerald Waldo Luis
Charging Street Post
3 min readMar 17, 2021

--

Note: Most review fragments taken from the author’s Reddit review.

Screenshot from Disney+

I must be the most pathetic movie aficionados to not get the chance to watch Wes Anderson movies. I’ve heard the words: picturesque, aesthetic, symmetrical. All-in-all satisfying. I’ve heard The Grand Budapest Hotel in years, yet it’s only in 2021 where I get to watch it, 7 years after its release.

Can I just open by saying how I love myself after this? Because finally, finally, anticipation is paid off. Nearly-decade long anticipation. It is rare for a movie to leave me so amused as if I have just littered by mouth with foams of fluffy clouds. It’s like marijuana, but visual, coming from Disney, and legal. At least, in some states — OK, I admit, I have a bad sense of humour.

Nobody shall deny that this is splendid. If you’re looking for a movie to relax and to improve your eyesight, this could be one. A vintage yet faithful depiction of a fascist regime framed by slapstick humour. Often movies can’t blend various elements, but The Grand Budapest Hotel does it right. The cinematography, visuals, and editing are to die for — I can’t stress this enough. The hype is not overhyped, it seems for the first time. There are some issues, though, with the brightness (it often feels too bright), and I don’t understand why a squared aspect ratio is preferred for the modern-day but widescreen is used for the late 60s and 80s.

But also, nobody can deny that there is a flaw in this movie. A huge, huge flaw. It is not delivered well.

The first minutes are nothing short of a masterpiece. Somehow I find the way Madame saying “I’m not leaving” funny, it sounds like a rom-com satire. The inciting incident is expressed naturally, so I have few complaints.

Amid it, the movie starts falling apart, apart from the camerawork, acting, and grandeur overture. Considering the prologue and first two parts takes a long time, I expect the remaining time to be much more, not specifically longer, but more elements. Right now the main plot is easily predictable: there’s gonna be a winter prison break, and a kiddie fight for Boy with Apple.

Right now, the cinematography is misleading. It is like a visual drug to keep you awake on a starting-to-get-boring movie. Kinda the same for the acting. Some of the throwaway plot points still remain enjoyable, but they don’t contribute to improving the plot. Because of the nature of the movie, everything feels trivial and I don’t connect with the characters anymore.

The ending is melancholic and satisfying. But a large part of “satisfying” is, “Finally! This movie is over I kinda… knew it.” I didn’t feel anything, other than the common chills I get every time I see a movie. I didn’t feel moved or questioning things or stuff like that. Except I did question one thing: “Why did they choose that font for the subtitles?”

The Grand Budapest Hotel is not a cursed premise nor an unnatural narrative. It explores controversial and strong themes, with great technical work. But Wes Anderson did not seem to dive deeper into the script, rather only anticipated in shooting it. The movie is a fine work. But it’s not great, and can do better. Nobody can deny, though, that Gustave’s legacy will carry on for long on the big screen.

GENRE: Comedy, drama
DURATION: 1 hour 39 minutes
WATCHED ON: Disney+
AGE RATING: 14+
LANGUAGE: English, French

--

--