Finding the Best Coffee Shops in Charlottesville

Tarun Donipati
Charlottesville Cravings
6 min readDec 24, 2023

--

Imagine this — it’s the last week of college, and you’re trying to find a place to relax and study. You want some soft music, a nice ambiance, and good coffee. Where do you go?

Believe it or not, that was my situation two weeks ago. Though I’ve only started liking coffee in my third year, I’ve loved coffee shops since I started college. Libraries are a bit too quiet to study, and I definitely get distracted if I’m in my apartment. But coffee shops have just the right amount of everything to keep me focused on what I need to get done. Even more, I enter them feeling good and leave feeling amazing! As a fourth-year at UVA who’s absolutely in love with coffeehouses, I wanted to find the place for me.

In the last two weeks of fall semester, I decided to try all the coffee shops I’ve heard about and share my thoughts. Each coffeehouse is evaluated on three factors — music, space, and coffee.

5. Starbucks on the Corner

Source: Starbucks on the UVA Corner FB

Starting with the positive notes, this Starbucks is pretty accessible to any UVA student on Grounds. I often go here whenever I have dangerous cravings for Mocha Cookie Crumble Frappuccinos.

However, the coffee at Starbucks is pretty generic. It’s exactly what you would expect from any Starbucks. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate consistency, and that’s essential for a corporate franchise. But I miss the novelty and the taste of “Charlottesville coffee.”

The music, by contrast, is well-curated and often consists of a mix of jazz, pop, and R&B. Especially during the Christmas season, sipping on a hot chocolate while listening to Frank Sinatra and Michael Bublé is surreal.

However, the space is very loud due to the whirring fan on the upper deck and the reflective acoustics. Furthermore, it’s often crowded with students, and finding a good place to sit and work is hard. The only positive note here is that the baristas are some of the friendliest people I’ve met, and they make the space a lot more welcoming.

Though this Starbucks is leagues above the Newcomb one, I still think there are better shops in CVille.

4. Lone Light Coffee Co

Source: Lone Light Coffee FB

Lone Light is a small coffee spot hidden on a corner in Downtown Charlottesville near the Paramount Theater — and it was definitely a surprise.

The space is very bright, with a clean and pristine look. With navy blue, brown, and cream color palettes accented by green from plants, the color scheme complements the vibe. It’s not a very busy spot, so if you want to have a nice conversation with someone or take them to a place they haven’t been before, Lone Light is great!

The coffee itself has some dark undertones but generally feels light. Dark tones are not really my preference (one of the reasons why I’m not too fond of Rookies coffee in Clark), but if you like that flavor, Lone Light won’t let you down.

The only shortcoming was the music. There was a lot of soft techno music, and given the acoustics and size of the space, it was pretty loud. When I tried to have a phone conversation, it was tough to hear what my friend was saying. So, honestly, I don’t know how a face-to-face conversation would be any better.

Nevertheless, Lone Light is a great spot with good-tasting coffee and likable architecture and interior design. Apart from the music, it’s a great place to have a good time.

3. Shenandoah Joe

Source: Shennandoah Joe FB

Right next to Dairy Market on Preston Avenue, Shenandoah Joe is probably the biggest coffee shop I’ve been to in Charlottesville.

The space is huge, almost the size of two-and-a-half full-size apartments. The architecture is rustic, with concrete flooring and a brown-painted warehouse ceiling. Accompanying that vibe, the color scheme covers earthy tones, utilizing almost all shades of brown. They have the most comfy sofas of any coffee shop, and the space is filled with quiet chatter from a mix of students, professionals, and academics.

The coffee here has a very bright flavor. Some people might call it diluted, but as someone who doesn’t enjoy strong coffee, this was great for me! The coffee was enjoyable and complimented the milk, rather than dominating it.

Musically, the playlist is well-curated to fit the vibe — subtle and soft. Playing jazz and R&B while ensuring that the volume doesn’t dominate the space, Shenandoah Joe takes good care that the music adds to their ambiance.

Apart from the distance, Shenandoah Joe is a great place to sit, have a coffee, relax, and study. And if you ever want to chat over coffee, this is the place. Overall, it’s the most versatile among all my picks.

2. Grit Coffee on Elliewood

Source: Grit Coffee FB

Now, you definitely think I’m biased … and I probably am, because this is my go-to spot :) Grit Coffee on Elliewood St. is an absolute all-rounder in accessibility, space, music, and coffee. I won’t say it’s excellent at everything, but it’s good in every aspect.

Like Shenandoah Joe, the coffee flavor has a lot of bright tones, though the same complaints about a diluted texture do arise. Since this shop is run mainly by student baristas, there’s also a lot of variability in the coffee you get. But that’s what makes it fun — you know you won’t get the same coffee twice in a row.

In contrast to the brightness of the coffee, the space uses a darker color theme (dark brown, purple, and woody). The upper deck is often filled with students locked into their work while sipping coffee. It’s definitely not clean and pristine, but the coffeehouse has the appeal of a paperback book: something makes you want to sit down and relax in it.

The music, operated by the student baristas, follows a similar theme of variability. Sometimes, you get 80s soft rock; other times, you get 2000s Taylor Swift hits. Even the volume is variable, becoming loud and suddenly very quiet. However, the acoustics of the space work well to dampen the sound and provide a focus-oriented environment.

Clearly, it’s not a perfect experience. So, why is this my #2? I think there’s a comfort you can derive from supporting a local coffee shop that’s so embedded into the student culture. Almost everything in this Grit Coffee is run by students, and even though it’s not flawless, it’s always satisfying to sip on a coffee made by people like you who strive to learn and be better every day.

1. Atlas Coffee

Source: Atlas Coffee FB

You know that feeling when an underdog you’ve never heard of suddenly becomes your #1? That was pretty much my feeling when I had my first coffee at Atlas!

The coffee itself is balanced between bright and dark tones. More specifically, the dark tones appear like chocolate chips in a cookie. In addition, the drink has a refreshing flavor that’s unique among everything I’ve tried.

The space is small and cozy — just one coffee bar with 7 comfy high chairs. The customers are a mix of locals and students, but surprisingly, not many people in UVA know about this place. It’s more like a grad student and professors’ secret spot. Given how many people come to work, it’s a great place to lock in and study.

The music is barista-curated, with soft pop from the 80s and 90s. It varies between being pretty peppy and mellow, complementing Atlas’s cozy yet energetic vibe.

Overall, this was the hidden gem in my search for the best coffee shop in Charlottesville, and I would’ve never found it if I hadn’t embarked on this quest.

Thanks for reading Charlottesville Cravings! Please share your thoughts in the comments, and I’ll see you on the next adventure :)

--

--

Tarun Donipati
Charlottesville Cravings

Fourth-year undergraduate at the University of Virginia studying Finance, Management, Economics, and Philosophy. I love to think, read, and write.