Stay Golden

From Broke to 1K Monthly: Sticking to the Good Vibes

Scott Webb
Chasing Photography
3 min readOct 31, 2016

--

Early in the year, I wrote about why pineapples are popular. In that article, I mentioned that it’s the mission of Pineapple Supply Co. to spread the good vibes that the pineapple symbolizes. In all I’ve been able to find, the pineapple has the power for good, something we need more than ever in this world. Our goal is to find more and more ways to spread good vibes and bring people together through the pineapple.

Pineapple at Sunrise

As the Pineapple Supply Co. Instagram account has grown, more and more people continue to comment how the pineapple just makes them smile. This is the thing I love to hear because I always hoped that my pineapple photography would cause followers to stop for a second and smile—especially anyone that deals with chronic depression.

As someone that deals with depression and anxiety every day, I’ve found that it’s continually been at the heart of many destructive events for me. Photographing and sharing pineapple imagery has been a positive way for me to interact with other people.

I had to bring things back to the good vibes and what came to mind was really using the project as a way to bring awareness to mental health issues. Not in the sense that I’ll write or product content around dealing with depression (who knows it might happen), but using the pineapple imagery to connect and then bring awareness.

A pineapple a day keeps the worries away.

That said, I decided to modify the Pineapple Supply Co. products so that 50% of the profit goes to the Canadian Mental Health Association, but I might change it up each quarter. For example, I love what Michael Landsberg is doing with Sick Not Weak. The amount generated might be small each quarter; however, any amount counts. I can’t help but feel this is the right direction to go with this project.

Putting Pineapple Supply Co. into a side-project status releases some of the pressures associated with needing it to ‘work’ for me. It also allows me to focus more on myself as a London Ontario Wedding Photographer and Architectural Photographer. I certainly need to spend time trying to market myself in that area to gain some clients. Some photographers in London, Ontario seem to be so busy and I’m here confused but totally capable.

I am fully committed to these paths. Applying to other jobs feels odd and their lack of response feels like they know I’m too far into it too. I’ve felt like I’m now “unemployable.”

Of course, I plan to continue giving away pineapple photos and more for free usage. That won’t stop as it’s been nothing short of amazing to give back that way too.

It’s all about sticking to the spreading of good vibes.

Accomplishments:

  • New blog post about ways to schedule content on Instagram efficiently
  • Created 2 new shirts for sale on Teespring (1 & 2) / Society6 (1 & 2) — Be a Pineapple. And sold a few shirts already!
  • Talks with 2nd Architecture Firm about photos for a couple of finished schools
  • Talks with 1st Architecture Firm looking into more upcoming shoots
  • Got legit contracts set up for types of photography and licensing I shoot
  • Physically moved locations where I live this past weekend.

Growth Metrics:

  • Revenue: $3.50 (total: $3648, weekly growth: <1%)
  • New Newsletter subscribers: 7 (total: 491, weekly growth: 1%)
  • New Instagram followers: 392 (total: 7522, weekly growth: 5%)
  • New Facebook Likes: 1 (total: 270, weekly growth: < 1%)

My 2 most recent “From Broke to 1K Monthly” posts, in which I reveal every week how I’m building and growing Pineapple Supply Co. and my photography while utterly broke:

--

--