From Broke to 1K Monthly: What the pineapples, Scott?

Scott Webb
Chasing Photography
3 min readSep 26, 2016

So, I’m sitting here on what could be a perfect Autumn day and I decide to check for the search analytics in Google Webmaster Tools for Pineapple Supply Co. In there amongst some odd 675 queries is one that catches me off-guard:

What the pineapples, Scott?

If you’re not familiar with Google Webmaster Tools, it helps you analyze your site within Google search. Someone was trying to figure out what the deal is with me and pineapples. And, I probably know them personally.

I could take this search query for my business in a couple of ways:

  1. Someone genuinely wonders what my interest is with pineapples and sharing pineapple images.
  2. They can’t figure out or understand the Pineapple Supply Co. story.

I personally believe the query relates to the first possibility; however, the latter really got me looking at the need to make our story extremely clear. My problem is that the story is fuzzy even in my head.

Without clarification to the story for Pineapple Supply Co., none of the other content and media on the website will make any sense. I am now working on simplifying and getting the information about Pineapple Supply Co. right down to an introductory level to pass what Donald Miller calls the “grunt test.”

If someone were to ask me what we do or offer them, I’d stumble all over the place with how I intend to help people. I believe I’d try to tell someone that Pineapple Supply Co. is about more than offering people free and premium stock pineapple photos that they can use.

But wait, there’s more

This wasn’t the only issue I discovered, though. The closer I looked, the more frustrated I got with how the entire homepage was communicating our brand. I felt that having a bunch of products directly on the homepage wasn’t allowing us to build any kind of connection. I don’t have someone else to go work on this important branding and marketing for me; however, I see these as high-priority issues that need attention if I would like to make some sales.

With all this said, perhaps I’m on the right track. I am at that point where I don’t like the first iteration and I am definitely ashamed. At the same time, I’m excited to see if the refinements I make will have an impact with people who arrive at Pineapple Supply Co. in the future.

Major Accomplishments:

  • Visit to my doctor regarding the many things mentioned in week 1
  • Great planning session in relation to my productivity and time management via Trello
  • Research into Partnerships & began reaching out
  • Meeting with wedding photography client
  • Shot some new photos

Growth Metrics:

  • Revenue: $67 (total: $2436, weekly growth: 3%)
  • New Newsletter subscribers: 28 (total: 382, weekly growth: 7%)
  • New Instagram followers: 414 (total: 3900, weekly growth: 11%)
  • New Facebook Likes: 3 (total: 262, weekly growth: 1%)

Stay Golden 🍍✌️

--

--