From Broke to 1K Monthly: Crafting your business’ purpose takes longer than a week

Scott Webb
Chasing Photography
3 min readOct 3, 2016
Image credit: Matt Taylor

Got it!

Wait, no, that’s not it.

Ok, this sounds better, but what about this part that we do?

Crafting your business’ purpose into a simple tag-line or elevator pitch is not an easy process. It’s so tough, most business’ don’t bother to do it and it leaves customers lost when they’ve found themselves on your website. Or, use my current personal photography website for an example of what not to do. My personal photography website doesn’t even tell you anything. No wonder there are so many crickets over there right now.

After realizing my business was pretty ambiguous, I knew at least one massive reason behind why customers were not buying or signing up for our newsletter as often as I’d like: Purpose was not defined in the simplest of terms. At least, I’m not going to blame anything else until purpose is clarified.

Don’t mistake this process with writing up a big business plan or a mission statement report. I’m talking about a few short sentences that you can easily tell everyone you meet and it will hopefully grab their interest.

Breaking down why your business exists, in only a few words, is a serious process and I am still working on it. I know it will probably be an ongoing process. I find it especially tough because all of my attempts to define the purpose are in my own head. I don’t have a second person or team bounce the different versions off.

Defining this purpose for your business will go a long way. It’s like knowing your why, but on steroids. It becomes clarity for your customers and for you to consistently reference.

So, for now, where I’m at with the purpose for Pineapple Supply Co. is:

When starting a business, most people struggle to afford custom or high-resolution stock photos. We’re here as an image resource with free and affordable visual content so you can grow your business.

It will probably be different next week.

The point I’m trying to get to, is crafting your purpose is maddeningly important. At least, I hope it is for you as much as it is for me.

But.

Don’t use this part of the process be an excuse for not getting started. While I’m trying to figure out the most clear words, I’m going forward with ideas still. I don’t know what’s going to stick.

I know that the tagline for my website is going see further editing and, hopefully, become gain more clarity over time. It’s an important reference point that cannot be set and forgotten.

Now it’s time to really go at everything centred around helping as best I can to help people grow their business, putting money into other important areas of their business and putting the visual content to good use.

Major Accomplishments:

  • Made progress on Pineapple Supply Co. purpose / story
  • Created and launched a free monthly Instagram challenge to community
  • Planned a lot of content for blog + Instagram challenge emails
  • Planned to add a secondary section to shop area related to merch
  • Shot more photos for future photo packs
  • Photographed wedding
  • Redesigned website

Growth Metrics:

  • Revenue: $1004 (total: $3440, weekly growth: 29%)
  • New Newsletter subscribers: 34 (total: 416, weekly growth: 8%)
  • New Instagram followers: 630 (total: 4530, weekly growth: 14%)
  • New Facebook Likes: 2 (total: 264, weekly growth: < 1%)

My previous “From Broke to 1K Monthly” posts, in which I reveal every week how I’m building and growing Pineapple Supply Co. while utterly broke:

--

--