From Broke to 1K Monthly: Going in Circles

Scott Webb
Chasing Photography
4 min readNov 12, 2016

As of late, I’ve been trying to gain some ground in my city to do photography work. It’s definitely not easy and I’ve been so close to giving up…day after day. Photography is just that thing that pulls me. It keeps pulling me back in, yet I continue to struggle so much with supporting myself through it. I go in circles.

I have tried to set up mini sessions to do portraits for people twice now and I’ve been skunked both times. Yeah, I only created 5-time slots and couldn’t fill one. Perhaps it all goes back to my website being redone, but I’ve seen other photographers that have abandoned their website for Facebook page.

Suddenly I circle back to giving up.

But I have got to keep trying.

I did run a Facebook Ad for a little (and low amount) for wedding photography and got 2 enquiries. One wanted to book with me; however, it’s still up in the air. I definitely don’t have the money for more Facebook ads. If you have the cash, I’d explore the ads because it could be the best way to get yourself in front of people today.

Great but not consistent

I’m thankful for a handful of Architecture photography work that I’ll be shooting this week for totally new clients. Usually I have some work with a firm I’ve worked with for 6 or so years, but not sure what’s happening this year. My emails and messages are going unanswered. Who knows — I’m hoping it’s a fluke.

To be honest, architecture work like this is more up my alley, but it’s not consistent and I need other work like weddings and portrait work too. I feel there are more people looking for a wedding photographer in London, Ontario than there are people looking for an architectural photographer, so I made my homepage to try and attract wedding work. It will probably take a long time before Google registers or indexes me, but don’t even get me started on the Google results for a wedding photographer in this city. I don’t understand them at all.

Trying to get reviews for a boost

Over the last 3 weeks, I’ve been asking past clients for reviews and testimonials (I never did in the first place). Everyone said they would, but only 1 has done so. And I’m thankful for that single review.

I’ve even reminded them once now. I feel a third time would be intrusive.

More reviews and testimonials would not hurt at all, but I don’t know how they might help me out in the near future in search.

Circles

Over the last 6 years, I feel I’ve been going in circles. When I might be hitting a breakthrough, photographically, I’ve taken a salary job because it’s safer. I give so much to the job, putting my work on the back-burner and then some freak thing happens and I’m without that job. I find myself trying to build up momentum for my photography again.

I’m finally trying to break the cycle and stick it out.

I am not one of those people that picked up a camera last year and now have more work than I can handle. For me it’s been a struggle. I’m sure there are other people out there in the same position.

Trying to break this evil cycle means that I am putting 95% of my energy into it and the other 5% into a side-project like Pineapple Supply Co. (especially as Winter is coming). Though this could change as I might not see much photography work until Spring. I have no idea.

I’ve noticed that where my energy goes, things start to move.

I’m breaking this pattern.

I don’t need to be booked daily or every weekend. Enough work to get by right now would be a huge success and alleviate anxiety too.

Chasing Photography

Truly, I am chasing photography. I wish I could tell you the 7 secrets to being a successful photographer, but I can’t. This is me being super transparent about my journey.

Perhaps some of what I’ve been doing will start to pay off, but I’m totally open to advice.

Accomplishments Recently:

  • Meeting in person with architects
  • A lot of small fixes to scottwebb.me
  • Got a Yelp Review and a Facebook Rating
  • Had one of my pineapple photos curated by Slack
  • Didn’t give up

top image credit: https://unsplash.com/@kvedula

--

--