It’s Mystery Time

Rohini S Murthy
Chasing Purple Skies
2 min readOct 10, 2023
Photo by 𝓴𝓘𝓡𝓚 𝕝𝔸𝕀 on Unsplash

I have been reading a lot of books lately. Reading novels was a passion that can be traced back to my school days. It all started with Enid Blyton’s famous five and secret seven, then I went on to read Nancy Drew. In between, I tried my best to read few Hardy boys books but it failed to entice me! When I was on the last leg of my teenage years, I started reading Mills & Boon, much to the chagrin of my mother. The library I frequented in Bangalore was conveniently located on the same road as my humble abode. Evening hours were blissful moments for me as I could browse through the books in this small library. The librarian, as expected became my new found best friend. She was a voracious reader and could easily pinpoint the title of my next ‘must-read’ book which invariably would be a non-M&B!

During my 20s and 30s, my interests hovered between fiction and non-fiction. The first non-fiction book which left a lasting impression on me was Iacocca- An autobiography by Lee Iacocca and William Novak and the next probably was Lust for Life-a biography of Vincent Van Gogh by Irving Stone. Over the years, I soon realized that I had a penchant to pick up novels with a touch of mystery in it. A thriller, a who dunit became my go-to books. Even to this day, I am an ardent fan of the murder mystery genre. Thanks to a tiny group of fellow book lovers(yes the numbers are dwindling at a rapid pace), I finished reading some of the best murder mystery novels in the last one year! I have listed down a few of my favorites especially for all my book reading brethren across the globe:

  1. The Silent Patient-Alex Michaelides

2. The Devotion of Suspect X-Keigo Higashino

3. A good girl’s guide to murder-Holly Jackson

4. The Millennium trilogy by Stieg Larsson

5. Few books by Agatha Christie

6. The Inmate and The Locked door- by Freida McFadden

7. Where the Crawdads Sing-Delia Owens

8. Something in the Water- Catherine Steadman

9. The Girl on the train and Into the Water- Paula Hawkins

10. The Silent Scream and Above Suspicion — Lynda LaPlante

Besides the books that I have listed, I am sure there are many more ‘gems’ out there which have failed to catch my eye. I urge everyone reading this article to share their suggestions…and together LET’S DISCOVER THE SURPRISING POWER OF READING FICTION!

--

--

Rohini S Murthy
Chasing Purple Skies

A storyteller whose anecdotes and take on life can inspire, fill you with joy or just make you feel wonderful!