Charles Caine III — A Dream Worth Chasing

Chasing Dreams Inc.
Chasing Dreams Incorporated
4 min readJul 14, 2016

University Liggett School, for those who may be unfamiliar with this prestigious school. Liggett is located in Grosse Pointe Woods right outside of Detroit. With limited class sizes and a rigorous academic grading scale, University Liggett School is a nationally recognized private school that prides themselves on having every Liggett graduate attend college. With academics being Liggett’s biggest strength, sports seems to be at the tail end of what the school is known for being good at. Football at Liggett has had its ups and downs in past seasons but last season was a season to remember. The football team went 6–4 and made it to the 2015 Michigan High School Playoffs. This impressive season for the Knights was possible with help from Charles Caine III.

Charles Caine III, 6’0” lbs. Junior. Has lot of Colleges interested in him. Waiting to see what he is going to do for his upcoming senior season.

High School is time for all students to start listing and figuring out what they are going to do next after graduation. These can be challenging times for students because most students really don’t know what their goals are beyond High School. But when you come across a student that has dreams and goals set up and already knowing what it takes to achieve those goals is very special. Caine III is one of those special student athletes that seems to know what he would like to do right out of high school. Caine III knows that eventually football does come to an end. He will be prepared when that does happen. “My goals after football, I would be planning on going into the medical field to pursue my career goals as either a pharmacist, biomedical engineer, or an athletic trainer”, said Caine III.

Going to a private school carries strong value for Caine III, with giving him the opportunity to take college prep classes to prepare him for the next level is something that Public schools can’t compete with. I asked Caine III, how has high school prepared you for college academically and on the gridiron? “At Liggett, I get a very unique educational experience, I have many classes that are oriented as a college class would be and I have top tier teachers that push me to be a better student. The staff here is phenomenal, our motto is “Shaping lives that shape lives” and that’s exactly what this school has done for me, it has shaped my life for the better. On the football field, I have developed not only as an athlete but as a captain as well. I have learned from my team’s mistakes and mine as well. Being a captain of a small team, is truly a privilege to have and that will cherish for the rest of my life”, said Caine III.

We all face challenges in life, this is something that drives us to become better people. Without having ambition and being knowledgeable to what our circumstances are, we set ourselves up for failure. I asked Caine III what are some challenges that you deal with being a high school student athlete daily? “Many high school students struggle with staying consistent on and off the field. The pressure of your grades slipping. It’s tough to juggle everything but I plan on staying on track and finishing strong throughout my senior year”, said Caine III. With colleges now interested in Caine III it’s imperative that he must be on his “A” game on and off the field. With already receiving 3 athletic scholarship offers from University of Columbia, Ball State, and Toledo. He is now getting some serious attention from schools such as Buffalo, Yale, Michigan, Minnesota, Grand Valley State, Central Michigan, and University of Ohio. “It’s a true blessing, it really feels like all my hard work and time is finally starting to pay off”, said Caine III.

Liggett went 4–1 in there conference last season, and with that going 5–1 at home. Playing some amazing brand of Knight Football. But ultimately coming up short against Richard High School losing 30–27 in the playoffs. Caine III still heartbroken about it, but very eager to get back out on the field to prove that he and his team are ready for all challenges. I asked Caine III, what are the team goals for the 2016 season as well as some personal goals that you like to achieve this season? “Team goals, we plan on winning the conference championship for third time in a row. We want to make sure that we can stay fairly healthy during the season so we can make a run for State Championship. Personal goals, I plan on exceeding 30 career touchdowns for my senior year. Having the opportunity to win conference MVP as well as being named All-State”, said Caine III.

Dreams are what drive us and make us who we are and what we want to be in life. Charles Caine III is a very special talent. That talent comes from him having a great family who loves and supports him. Giving him the tools to have strong values that will never go away. “I’m chasing my dreams by staying motivated by success. Keeping my mindset focused on being successful really pushes me. I give my all into everything that I do”, said Caine III. With all of his hard work and dedication, Caine III dreams are definitely worth chasing.

Caine III running away from the defense

--

--

Chasing Dreams Inc.
Chasing Dreams Incorporated

Giving you Inside Stories of Student Athletes from their OWN point of view.