Tanner Myers — Dreaming of Success

Chasing Dreams Inc.
Chasing Dreams Incorporated
4 min readJul 14, 2016

Dreams aren’t for those who don’t believe but for those who put it in their minds that they will overcome any obstacles that may stand in their way of achieving success. Now imagine yourself as a great athlete who is on the verge of graduating high school. You have all the intangibles as an athlete, but it’s one thing that always holds you back and that’s your grade point average. The issue today is that many students who play sports are not academically excelling. But to have success in life you must be able to excel in the classroom. Tanner Myers is one of those students who has the full package. Having excellent academics and also being an impact player on the football field for Macomb Dakota has college coaches interested in Tanner Myers.

Tanner Myers, 5’8” 160 lbs. Junior Defensive Back from Dakota High School is in full gear to make quarterbacks second guess themselves when throwing the football his way.

When it comes to being underrated it’s something that most athletes use as fuel to stay motivated. I asked Myers what is something that you would like to prove to yourself when others have doubted you? “I just want to be able to prove that I am capable of playing with some of the best football players in the state of Michigan. Playing at Dakota gives me that advantage because of the level of competition we play every year. I’ve been so underrated that I just can’t wait to go out on the field to showcase my skills”, said Myers.

Sometimes we get so caught up in a student athlete’s personal statistics and how they impact the game and we never get to know student athletes on a more personal level. This is the toughest element about being recruited. A student athlete only has a few chances to impress college coaches. I wanted to know from Myers point of view, what motivates him to perform at the highest level next season? “My motivation for next season is simple. I want to impact the game as much as possible and to make sure that this year seniors leave with a championship ring. I am truly a team player and leader if you will. I don’t take things for granted and that’s what I want colleges to know about me”, said Myers.

Motivation has driven Myers to be the student athlete he is today. Giving your blood, sweat and tears to chase your dreams is what it’s all about. “I am chasing my dreams by working on something to improve my game nearly every day. I’m either lifting weights or studying for a test. I give my all no matter what stands in my way”, Myer said.

It is many things that student athletes need for support and that has to be family. Myers’ family is his backbone. “My family has a major impact on my life. It’s so many things that I’ve been through and my family has always been there for me. They have had a huge impact on me in this recruiting process including the schools I would like to attend”, said Myers. Recruiting is always a tough process but Myers is focused and he knows that patience is something that will make him more motivated to work harder. “Not having any offers is motivating. I have learned that timing is everything and my time is coming”, Myers said. In the meantime Myers has been receiving some interest from various colleges not only for football but for academics as well. He wants to attend a school that has a very good academic program.

Macomb Dakota High School is known for being one of the better football teams in the State of Michigan and they will begin their season against the 2015 Division 3 State Champions Orchard Lake St. Mary’s Eaglets on August 25th . This game should be a great test for the Cougars. “Our goal is to defeat Orchard Lake St. Mary’s and that should give us enough momentum to win the State Championship”, Myers said.

Success is something that is earned by sacrificing for what you are trying to accomplish. Nothing happens overnight. Student athletes like Tanner Myers, don’t come around so often.

It won’t be long before you hear about Tanner Myers first offer.

Junior Highlight’s

--

--

Chasing Dreams Inc.
Chasing Dreams Incorporated

Giving you Inside Stories of Student Athletes from their OWN point of view.