Dreams Can Be A Reality

Chasing Dreams Inc.
Chasing Dreams Incorporated
3 min readDec 22, 2016
Walled Lake Northern LB Marco Savone #58

Walled Lake Northern High School is the newest school in the Walled Lake District. They opened in August of 2002. Walled Lake Northern maybe the newest school in the school district but in sports the Knights have been nothing but resilient. Since 2012 the Knights’ football team has recorded 32 victories and only 19 loses, winning over 60% of their games in a 4 year time span. This is the football team’s personal best because since 2011 the Knights’ only won 29% of their games. In the 2016 season Walled Lake Northern ended the season 6–4 and made it to the playoffs for the second year in a row but only to come up short against Pinckney 28–17 in the Pre-District round. Although the Knights season was cut short, junior linebacker Marco Savone had such a great year on varsity.

Junior Linebacker Marco Savone played at some critical moments this season to help the Knights’ win some close games. Savone, 5”10 and 215 lbs. had to command the middle of the defense this season. Calling out plays for the defense and making sure his teammates were all in the right position. “My season was alright. I had to go through some changes throughout the year and overcome some adversity but otherwise it was decent”, said Savone.

Savone is a “think before do” type player. He analyses plays before they happen, making him aware what the offense is about to run. This ability gives him and the defense a better chance of making plays. On the field and in the classroom Savone is making an impact. Savone is a nominee for the 2016–17 KLAA Scholar Athlete award. This award is for student athletes who earn varsity letters and that have achieved a 3.5 GPA or higher.

With Savone’s senior year around the corner, he has goals that he wants to accomplish for next season. “I want to make All-Conference, All-North, and All-County. Team goals, I am hoping we make a run for the State Championship and become the first team in Walled Lake Northern school history to make it to the state championship and win it all”, Savone said.

There is always a reason for doing things that we love to do and that usually comes from having role models in our life. We asked Savone who his role models were. “My family has played a huge role in my life. They have molded me into who I am today. They have taught me the importance of hard work and how you can do anything if you set your mind to it. I dedicate everything to my dreams by putting 110% effort into it. My mom and dad are great role models to me because they are very hard working and they are teaching me how to be a man”, Savone shared.

This off-season Savone has been speaking with Ferris State and many other schools in Division 3. “The recruiting process will be exciting for me. I am very interested in Western Michigan, Grand Valley, Saginaw Valley, Eastern Michigan, Valparaiso, Kalamazoo College, and Hillsdale, just to name a few”, said Savone. The transition from junior to senior year is huge in recruiting. Most schools don’t like to offer student athletes until their senior year or after the football season is over. So this is the perfect time for student athletes to train and work on mechanics that will increase their chances of earning scholarships. Savone will be off-season training at Rising Stars under the guidance of the recruiting guru Reggie Wynns.

Savone wants to make his dreams a reality, “I am chasing my dreams by working hard and putting in 110% effort into everything I do, whether it is academics or athletics. I continually work on the little things to ensure that I am prepared to take on any challenge I am faced with”, said Savone. But in life you have to expect the unexpected. Savone takes nothing for granted and he wants to take advantage of the opportunity that he has in front of him. Savone said, “I’m not the biggest, fastest, or the strongest but nothing will ever stop me from making my dreams become a reality”. And you can’t take that away from a student athlete who is determined to make a difference.

Please Click the link below for Marco Savone’s Junior Season Highlights

http://www.hudl.com/v/jE6x6

--

--

Chasing Dreams Inc.
Chasing Dreams Incorporated

Giving you Inside Stories of Student Athletes from their OWN point of view.