Free Financial Resources for Better Money in 2020

Boost savings, build credit, and make the new year a better one.

Angely Mercado
Cheap AF

--

Photo by Michael Longmire on Unsplash

Personal finance can be tricky, especially for the average person who is dealing with wages that haven’t gone up, higher costs of living, and ever diminishing safety nets. It’s hard to repay things like medical or student debt which cripples so many people, and it’s hard to build a decent financial cushion towards a more comfortable life.

That doesn’t mean it’s impossible.

But it will take hard work. It’s really frustrating to see how little some jobs pay considering how much they demand from workers physically and emotionally. And it’s hard to think about how just a generation ago, what was considered lower income wages could pay for a mortgage and support a family. That’s nowhere near the case these days. I make more than minimum wage and still have to live with several roommates, earlier this year I was buying most of my food from a dollar store, and I couldn’t really save up as much money as I really needed to feel comfortable about future emergencies.

It took a number of freelance side gigs, a new full-time job, budgeting, and some online bank accounts to really feel like I’m finally in control of my finances. Throughout 2019, I did a lot of research…

--

--

Angely Mercado
Cheap AF

Native NYer. Climate writer/researcher @Gizmodo. Words in The Nation, The New York Times, Vogue & more. Work with me: amercado92@gmail.com