Work From Home Hacks for Workers Who Are New To This

productivity in a pandemic?

Angely Mercado
Cheap AF

--

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Longtime freelancers are pros at working from home or in the corners of libraries, university lobbies (for good wifi) and coffeeshops. As someone who has struggled to find full-time employment in a very saturated media market, I have spent a lot of time with my trusty laptop and noise cancelling headphones in all kinds of environments trying meet deadlines, interview sources, and send out pitches in hopes of paying bills.

It took a while to understand how to do this comfortably, especially in my post-grad life where I was used to a formal-ish environment of a college or graduate school campus. I had to find ways to carve a space for myself at home that was only work related and where I could tolerate sitting in for at least over an hour.

And now so many of us are forced to stay indoors to help stop the spread of the novel coronavirus as it ravages everything we know and love. So if you haven’t had many jobs where you’ve had to work from home before, here are some tips to make it a more comfortable transition. Or at least as comfortable as you can get in the middle of a global health crisis.

Consider your setup

If possible, set up a nook for yourself near a window or a part of your home where…

--

--

Angely Mercado
Cheap AF

Native NYer. Climate writer/researcher @Gizmodo. Words in The Nation, The New York Times, Vogue & more. Work with me: amercado92@gmail.com