Salt Lake City, Utah

An Intro to Cheap Life Cheats.

A college student’s guide to saving money around Utah and Salt Lake County

Ellie Hoyt
Cheap Life Cheats
Published in
3 min readSep 17, 2018

--

We should have the same attitude towards coupons as the singer, M.I.A, has towards taking people’s money in her song “Paper Planes.” Instead of the chorus being “all I wanna do is take your money”, think of it as “all I wanna do is take your coupons.” People love deals, even if it only means saving a dollar or two. Coupons are basically free money that companies give out so why wouldn’t you use it, right? The opportunity of being able to get a deal out of something is what drives people’s behavior. The truth behind most consumers, including myself, is that we love saving money.

With this Cheap Life Cheats publication, I would like to share some ways that I save money around Utah and Salt Lake County; everything from couponing to inexpensive outings, and more will be shared here. On top of this, I would also like to share some lesser known and unique businesses within my community.

So… why do I personally love saving money?

Growing up, my mom (specifically) always encouraged me to save money; she was the one who taught me how to earn, save, and spend thoughtfully. As a kid, every time I would get an allowance from my parents for doing chores around the house, I was expected to keep a record of that and my spendings for the entire month. I had to keep the receipts to all of my purchases and document everything (sort of like a balance book for your bank account). To some people, making your child do this may seem to be a bit too excessive but in all honesty, I’m grateful that my mom made me do this (even though I didn’t enjoy it at the time because it was really tedious). Learning basic money skills and actually practicing how to manage money early on as a kid has had a tremendous impact on my budgeting and saving habits as an adult.

If you really knew me, you’d know that I love deals. So basically, I love anything that’s inexpensive, better yet, free. Whenever I eat out, I try to use coupons (especially the BOGO ones). One of my favorites? Corner Bakery Cafe. I’m subscribed to their eClub so I get good deals from them on a weekly basis. Another great place to find good coupons or cheap life cheats is your mailbox. I don’t know about you, but I receive a ton of coupons in the mail (probably because I live in a college neighborhood and they know that I’m a poor college student). I get a lot of coupons for fast food joints so I rarely use those but every once in a while, I get some really good deals for places like Rumbis or El Pollo Loco.

Even if you aren’t broke, being frugal and saving money wherever and whenever you can is a good habit to practice. It really doesn’t hurt to save a little money here and there. Coupons are honestly a great way to save money but there are so many other ways that you could save money in your day-to-day life.

If you would like to learn more about ways that you could save money, make sure to follow this publication. :)

--

--

Ellie Hoyt
Cheap Life Cheats

Multifaceted Designer | UX/UI Design | Instructional Design | Graphic Design