Meet the Youthful Artist Animating the Blockchain in Africa’s Power Hub

Alexandre Lores
Checkmate
Published in
5 min readOct 6, 2022

--

“I started drawing things I loved doing and things I found pleasure drawing. They include people I bonded with, elemental bright colors and mythological figures.” -Vulcan

Travel with me to Nigeria, and let’s meet a 22-year old mixed media architect and artist from Nigeria. He likes to be known as unorthodox and is exploring multiple forms of art in the NFT space.

His nation is the most populous in Africa and the 6th most populated in the world, with 218 million inhabitants. Its economy is the largest on the continent and among the top 30 economies in the world. Nigeria is also a growing hub for cryptocurrency and its blockchain cousin, the NFT.

Who is Vulcan?

“The artist I wish I could speak to for an hour would be Leonardo Da Vinci. He was also a southpaw and the person that inspired me to study architecture and his art was always a mystery which I liked.” -Vulcan

Location: Nigeria

Links

1. How and when did you get into art?

--

--

Alexandre Lores
Checkmate

Founder of thelatestblock.com. Director of Blockchain Markets Research for Quantum Economics. Writing about all things Bitcoin, crypto, NFTs and fintech