Bud Light St. Patrick’s Day Festival & Parade

Karina Miller
CheckOut San Antonio
3 min readMar 17, 2019

A fun little fact about me is that I’m part Irish on my mother’s side; My great-grandfather was named John O’Donnell. Despite that, I don’t know about anyone else, but St. Patrick’s Day kind of snuck up on me this year.

My friend, Edith, messaged me this morning asking if I was going to attend the St. Patrick’s Day Festival down by La Villita. I honestly hadn’t been planning on it, but I hadn’t seen her in a long time and didn’t want to miss the chance to spend time with a friend. A few Facebook messages later, we had a plan.

Going downtown can sometimes pose a challenge when it comes to
parking, but we were lucky enough to find a spot a couple of blocks away from
La Villita off Jack White Way and E Nueva. After a quick walk, we were at La
Villita.

Bud Light St. Patrick’s Day Festival & Parade

I was relieved it wasn’t too crowded and we could pop in to the different areas. In one, we found a little girl singing karaoke. There were several booths; one was an Irish store, one sold Irish dolls, and another provided information about the history of Ireland. There were several food booths, so I made sure to get a green funnel cake.

Bud Light St. Patrick’s Day Festival & Parade
Bud Light St. Patrick’s Day Festival & Parade

A crowd had gathered at the Arneson River Theatre, so we decided to join them. We got there just in time to catch a beach ball game. Each side had to compete against the other to get the beach balls to the top of the stands and back down. The other side won, but we still had a good time!

Bud Light St. Patrick’s Day Festival & Parade
Bud Light St. Patrick’s Day Festival & Parade
Bud Light St. Patrick’s Day Festival & Parade
Bud Light St. Patrick’s Day Festival & Parade

We finished our excursion by listening to the Ledbetters and checking out all the cool costumes. If you didn’t get to enjoy the festival today, it’s okay! You can visit tomorrow! Click HERE for those details!

Originally published at CheckOut San Antonio.

--

--