Guadalajara Grill

Karina Miller
CheckOut San Antonio
2 min readApr 4, 2018

I stopped by Guadalajara Grill for lunch while I was out celebrating Easter with my daughter. We had been active the whole morning so we were ravenous by the time we walked over to the restaurant. My first observation was how attentive the staff was. I’m sure they were exhausted as this restaurant is located in close proximity to the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, but three staff members stopped by our table to ask if we needed anything soon after we were seated. The restaurant wasn’t crowded, but business was definitely steady; people were seated inside and outside thanks to a gorgeous day.

Carnitas Guadalajara

They had a special, condensed menu to accommodate the additional number of tourists in town, but the menu had a lot of variety. I opted for the Carnitas Guadalajara which is roasted pork topped with chopped onion, fresh tomato, cilantro, and fresh avocado (they will add chile on request) while my daughter ventured out of her bean and cheese taco comfort zone and ordered the Kid’s Enchilada Plate which comes with one enchilada (cheese, chicken or beef), rice, and beans. She chose cheese, so it wasn’t a tremendous stretch from a bean and cheese taco, but it’s a start.

Kid’s Enchilada Plate

I didn’t like margaritas before moving to San Antonio. I know how crazy that sounds, but perhaps I never went to a place that made them well when I lived on the East Coast. On this day I went with a standard frozen house Margarita and it was perfect. Our lunches were delicious, we ate every bite and were perfectly fueled to go out and enjoy the rest of our day. There are hundreds of great restaurants downtown, but if you aren’t sure which to choose and you’re in the area, you won’t be disappointed with Guadalajara Grill.

House Margarita

--

--