Learner Stories: Aidan

Chegg
Chegg
Published in
3 min readOct 27, 2022

By Aidan Connelly

As a first-generation college student, I never knew quite what to expect as I ventured into the world of higher education. However, enrolling in classes at Salt Lake Community College in Salt Lake City, Utah during a global pandemic was not quite the experience I pictured.

Both my freshman and sophomore years have been entirely online, and while virtual learning allows flexibility with my full-time job, it has made it difficult for me to understand the extent of what’s expected of me and the resources that are available to help me succeed.

For example, something as simple as registering for classes is more difficult without the ability to meet with counselors or attend an in-person orientation to sit down and discuss the courses that would be most conducive to earning my degree. As a result, I felt a little in the dark and ultimately found myself in some classes I might not have taken had I received guidance.

Fortunately, as I began seeking textbooks for the start of my first year, I quickly discovered Chegg, which not only helped me purchase more affordable textbooks but offered a wide variety of online academic resources.

When classes got difficult, I didn’t know where else to turn. I didn’t discover many of the tutoring services and academic help my college provided until my second year of school, so Chegg became my catch-all solution with in-depth, step-by-step walkthroughs of just about every course I was taking. When it comes to math, for example, Chegg helps me break down the concepts and learn the actual methodology of a problem instead of simply providing an answer to me.

Chegg also helps me save money. Despite being a paid subscription, the small monthly cost is nothing compared to the amount of money I’d waste paying tuition again if I failed a course.

Accessing Chegg online also helps me stay flexible when it comes to my job and earning an income while in school. Even though I’m now aware of the tutoring services my school offers, the amount of time it takes to schedule a session and meet with someone can be more inconvenient than it’s worth. Chegg is accessible 24/7, allowing me to study while I’m on the go or during hours I can’t access traditional academic support.

As someone who is still undecided about the job I’d like to pursue after college, it’s important for me to have the extra time in my schedule to excel in my job and seek out opportunities that will help me nail down my true passions. I know that earning my degree in the Business of Associated Sciences is critical to staying competitive when I do find the job that’s right for me, and I’m grateful to Chegg for still being the resource I trust even as I became more aware of the others on campus.

--

--

Chegg
Chegg
Editor for

Chegg understands the issues in higher education, invests in diversity, and revolutionizes educational tools for the modern student. We put students first.