Becoming Social

MEDIUM

Medium is state-of-the-art in community-centered content management systems. It is an online publishing platform developed by Twitter co-founder Evan Williams, and launched in August 2012.

The advantage of Medium over other platforms is the fact that the value of the publications is the content and the ideas instead of the page views. Also, Medium uses a network and makes it easier for the user to find the stuff they want to find. Medium is also interactive. The user can highlight passages, and reply to publications and stories, and even import tweets and images.

I have been trying to use Medium to grow my social presence for the past little while and I really love the platform. It’s really great to use for staying up to date on industry news and connecting with other students.

FACEBOOK

I’m somewhat active on Facebook, but not as active as I should be in regards to networking and promoting myself. I have, however, used Facebook to help other companies grow by creating ads and videos for them.

BEHANCE

Behance is a FANTASTIC resource for designers. I would love to work harder at becoming more active on Behance because I think it’s a great place for work opportunities as well as a hot spot for inspiration. One thing I really believe in, is looking for inspiration on sites like this because it just expands your view on what’s out there. Sometimes creativity is really hard, and if you need a little push, I would definitely check Behance or even Pinterest.

PINTEREST

This might sound like a joke, but I kid you not I use Pinterest to find inspiration almost daily. It’s amazing all the stuff you can find on there. I have a board dedicated to things that can help move my career along: from business card ideas, to photo-editing tricks, to website layouts.

--

--