College Life

Chelsea
Views From Leo
Published in
4 min readNov 16, 2016

Ever since I was a little girl I had a plan. A simple plan that would outline the rest of my future: do well in high school, work hard, get into a good college, and be set for life. I mean, that’s how I thought the world worked at the time. I never thought the day would come where I would be sitting in the study lounge of the 9th floor of my dorm building, looking out at the gorgeous view of the hills and of downtown LA. I have to ask myself sometimes Am I really here? I try not to think about it too much or my head will hurt, but today is a much needed day to reflect.

College was always a distant dream. I tried not to imagine life beyond college years because it always seemed so far away. But here I am, four years away until I graduate from this distant dream. Everything I ever did in school was with the mindset that I was doing it in order to get into a good college. I have a new dream now, and it’s to graduate from UCLA. Soon after, it will be medical school. These distant dreams will hopefully become reality or possibly change. I’m not too concerned about them right now but they’re sitting in the back of my head, just like the dream of college did when I was younger.

The transition was not easy, but it wasn’t too hard either. Learning how to settle into this new life where I am responsible for myself and having to create a daily routine took some time. I had to create a routine all on my own. Everything wasn’t structured for me anymore. Luckily within the first week of school I met some amazing friends on my floor that made the transition smoother. They were going through the same thing I was and we were learning how to manage this new life together. With time, I no longer felt lost and overwhelmed on this huge college campus.

Ever since college started, I’ve started to surprise myself in every possible way. I grew up with the same group of friends for many years, so there was never a need to have to go out of my way and try and meet new people or make new friends. As a first year student in a college where you don’t know anyone, you kind of have to be a little extroverted. New connections with new people is one of the best things about being human and luckily I’m at a place where there’s plenty of opportunity to find it.

I’ve made some crazy decisions that I would not have made back in high school. I’ve experienced more in two months than I did in four years back home. Being in Los Angeles makes going out and finding things to do so much easier. Everywhere is a bus ride or Uber away, and there are always events going on not only on campus but all throughout LA.

Is college as hard as everyone says it is? Yes and no. For this first time it is your own responsibility to take the initiative and use resources. You are no longer spoon fed everything anymore. College is a lot of reading, a lot of fast note taking/typing in class, and harder content. Class has been rough, and I am struggling. I’ve never been to0 great with taking responsibility, but this is what I’m here for right? To learn how to be responsible, to discover how my brains works, and figure out how to manage my time. I know that every day I wake up, there is a chance to redeem myself.

--

--