My Experience Working with UNYA

I have had a really great experience so far working with UNYA, and I’m sure my group mates would agree. Our group has been working to address the gap in available mental health care for these Indigenous youth, a group that at times experiences significant hopelessness. We definitely had some of that hopelessness trickle into our work, however luckily we were able to move around and past some of the boundaries and obstacles that appeared in our way and instead of submitting to the fact that so much is out of our hands, we pivoted and figured out the best ways we could help with what we do have. We have created a site that is a hub for tools and resources that can help someone presently experiencing a mental health crisis who has no one in person to talk to. Some of the content includes clips of wisdom given by Elders, guided meditations and movement practices, and mindfulness/ emotional regulation practices.

Working with UNYA has taught me a lot not only about privilege, and lack of, but about the power of community, holding onto tradition, and connecting with others. This assignment has really opened my eyes to this group and the hardships they face, and the cultural aspect of the course and our work has been extremely helpful. In order to helpfully and appropriately execute this assignment, some unlearning was required and there was the need for learning about Indigenous cultural practices, the history of this group, and what they already have within their community that works. I really appreciated the guest speakers we had throughout the course and all the literature we were provided with, along with words and feedback from Miriam and the others helping this course, which were so helpful. I feel that without that background and firm understanding, this project could have been done in an entirely different way, and our connection to UNYA would not be as strong.

I am really looking forward to seeing how our project comes out when it is finished, and am excited for UNYA to incorporate our suggestions and interventions. Most classes do not provide the opportunity for such a real world experience and impact to be made, and I am extremely grateful for this opportunity. Depending on how our next steps with UNYA go, I am going to inquire about being able to remain in contact and working somewhat with them. The need for help and care that this demographic has is extreme and they are just not being met with the resources and assistance they require. This assignment has opened my eyes to a lot. I am so appreciative of what I have been able to learn and of the impact my group has the ability to make. s

--

--