The Power of Connection & Culture

Sam Gordon
Child & Adolescent Global Mental Health
3 min readNov 4, 2023

Having watched the interview between Wilmi and Hannah, I was able to have a moment of reflection on my group’s work with FamConnect. Many topics were discussed, among which I found the discussion of culture and connection between the students and the NGO to be most pertinent.

Regarding the subject of culture, Wilmi highlighted the importance of students’ consciousness and the community’s pre-existing strengths. When entering a professional relationship with an NGO and their community, it is necessary to recognize that you are coming from a completely different environment which impacts your perspective. In my case, I have already been thinking about my privilege when working with FamConnect. I am an Asian woman, who comes from a high socio-economic status. There is a clear difference between my education and my personal understanding of the world. For instance, I have access to a more stable internet connection. I have access to educational tools that have supported my growth. I have never worried about the potential deprivation of basic resources. I want to be mindful of these differences in such a way that is respectful.

My thoughts on social norms and traditional values, in many ways, reflect those of FamConnect. However, this cannot be said for the larger community that we are working with. It was not until speaking with the teachers and the students we are working to assist that it became significantly apparent to me. Although gender-based violence is an occurrence in many countries, the extent to which it is socially normalized varies drastically. In some ways, it was an initial intrinsic reaction to look at the community’s challenges with a fear of not being able to relate. I worried that the experiences and consequences of GBV would need to be approached with a more clinical perspective. However, one of the crucial aspects that I have recognized and that are reinforced in this interview is the following: We want to ensure that we are using a trauma-informed approach, but that we are coming from a humanistic and relationship-based approach. We are not here to ‘rescue’ the community. We are here to help them. We are assisting in bolstering the pre-existing strengths of the community while also integrating an intervention that will have long-term benefits. One needs to be mindful of the labels and assumptions that we make.

With regard to the fostering of a connection between the students, the NGO, and the community, Wilmi emphasized the importance of trust-building. We want to recognize the shared values we hold, of which respect, honesty, non-violence, and non-discrimination are just a few. We want to acknowledge each person’s role and take care to appreciate those who are working at the ‘front line’, which in this case are the teachers and counselors who work directly with the students. While we hold professionalism as a key component, relatability and personal connection are fundamental parts of collaboration. In Hannah and Wilmi’s words, we want to laugh and smile together. We want to keep a positive, dynamic environment while still addressing the problems at hand. This connection will lead to exploration, curiosity, and creativity.

One of my most humbling and powerful experiences throughout this process has been our meeting with the students. We were able to connect, via Zoom, with girls from two schools and I personally feel that this re-energized me in a sense. It filled me with a strong desire to help, but more importantly, it reminded me that while there are differences between us, ultimately we are people who are helping other people. We are not the saviors, we are not the ‘providers’, we are there to connect, share, and work on creating a happier and safer environment. I am truly thankful for my experiences with FamConnect thus far, and I am even more excited to work together to create something new while bolstering what already exists.

--

--