Childfree Living

A new publication

LeNora Faye
Childfree Living
2 min readMay 4, 2019

--

“…write your own part. It is the only way I’ve gotten anywhere. It is much harder work, but sometimes you have to take destiny into your own hands. It forces you to think about what your strengths really are, and once you find them, you can showcase them, and no one can stop you.”

Mindy Kaling, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

Writing about life as a childfree woman is a new venture for me. Such a thing never crossed my mind until July of 2018. After years of being on the defensive about not wanting children, I realized I could go on the offensive.

The Bitchy Bookkeeper blog was born out of necessity for the ultimate clapback. An answer to the question “why don’t you have children?”

It’s not that anyone is entitled to an answer. I felt the urge to write about my experiences. Acknowledging my penchant for oversharing. To explore my reasons for not wanting to have kids.

Two things happened when I began to write.

  1. I began to understand that being childfree was my calling.
  2. A community of like-minded individuals opened up.

The childfree community is underrepresented in mainstream media. Here on Medium, it’s a small topic. But I adore this small topic. Instead of shopping around to different publications, I decided to create Childfree Living. At the very least, it will show up on Google search.

Most of my peers may be in a family way, but in 10 -15 years their kids will be thinking about the future. What if they knew that parenthood was optional and not an absolute must? What if my best friend’s daughters decided not to have children? Instead of feeling guilty, they felt empowered. Because they had the understanding and the support of society.

The goal of sharing personal experiences is to reach beyond the current readership. Somewhere in the future.

And yes, there is a future. Most of the planet will continue to breed.

My purpose is to add my voice to the existing community. To offer support to anyone who is struggling with this decision. To entertain some parents who like to live vicariously. To offer a lesser-known perspective.

Life isn’t one-size-fits-all. Love isn’t one-size-fits-all.

Joy, happiness, purpose — come in different forms and don’t always need diapers.

Wherever this finds you, I wish you the best as you build your life.

--

--

LeNora Faye
Childfree Living

Childfree Lifestyle Advocate • Co-founder of Childfree Media Ltd. Choosing not to have kids and facilitating conversations about choice awareness.