How I Fell in Love With the Web

Rajika Imal
Childhood Hacks
Published in
3 min readJun 26, 2016

Remember that sweet sound your dial-up modem makes when you were trying to connect to this fascinating thing called the Internet. Connecting to the Internet wasn’t easy. We didn’t have broadband connections which would just connect you instantly to the internet like nowadays, no mobile devices with WiFi. But with so much effort trying again and again connections were made. Once connected suddenly the world around you becomes dazzled with the power of information flowing through your computer.

As kids we were always trying to explore something new, something exciting. While browsing the internet I used to play lots of flash based games. Trust me they were one of the coolest things in early 2000 s. I used to play different kinds of flash games. And then there were Mini-clip games which were also based on flash. But most of them had something in common. Keys were used for playing the game. I wondered how these games were created. How do we control these characters.

So like everyone else I started doing some research on how the creation of Mini-clip games took place at that time. Then I found out about Macromedia flash. The software which made was used to create flash based games. Lucky for me I had few versions of Macromedia flash in my disc collection. So I took the liberty of installing the latest one I had at the time and take a peek and see what I could do with it. Once installed, I tried to do few hacks. Made few interesting animations, with the help of the tutorials sections which was inbuilt to Macromedia flash.

After few days I learned to handle the options available in the software. But I really wanted to create something more interactive and interesting, like the games I used to play when I got connected to the internet once in a while. Even though I wanted create something, I didn’t have any idea on how to accomplish such a creation. As I pointed earlier, most of the games had few things in common which made them interesting to play. Among those on-screen keys played a major role, at least for myself. I needed to replicate the functionality of on-screen keys.

But I had no idea. Since I was going to replicate the whole controlling thing, what I did was opening one of the games with Macromedia flash. After doing some hacks I made a great discovery. I found out that, in order to control a certain object with keys I needed to wire up the keys with the respective objects so that I needed to code on Macromedia flash. But back then I had no clear idea. So I replicated a game which was already made, just the skeleton functionalities. I was impressed, that I could move a beetle around the screen with keys. It looked pretty much like this as far as I can remember ps: this is not a screenshot of what I created.

Since then I got interested in creating more cool stuff and it was a great experience since I self taught most of the features. Web was a great deal for me to get into flash and since then the web has evolved in an extreme rate. At present it’s something people can’t live without. Messaging, sharing information, e-commerce have become critical among people and web plays the major role. So who doesn’t love the web.

Have any thoughts ? Share on the comments section below. Ciao !

--

--

Rajika Imal
Childhood Hacks

💻 Software Engineer 🛠️ Tooling infra 💝 Delightful products https://theruntime.dev