Update to plan of study: November 2020

Andrew Richner
Chilean Revolution 1970
2 min readNov 27, 2020

In my initial plan of study for this project, I’d outlined what I thought was a somewhat optimistic but also very realizable timeline that would see me cover most of the historical background topics leading up to 1970 between when I launched this project in September to the point in early November marking 50 years since Allende’s confirmation by Congress.

I see now that that was overly optimistic. As can be surmised from my progress in writing for this blog, I haven’t covered the ground I had set out to cover in the past two months.

First, there’s a lot to cover in the historical background that I had thought I could get through relatively quickly. It turns out that there was more to it than that.

Despite the pace of my writing not being as quick as I expected, the pace of my research has not. I’ve read somewhere in the range of 30 books in the past few months and at this point I think I have a better sense of how much reading per my output in writing is realistic.

So, I’m changing my plan. I’m going to leave it open ended as to the pace of producing for this blog, though ideally picking up the pace a little bit going forward. I’m still going to cover the same topics I initially outlined, though.

Also, at some point I want to put together a kind of annotated bibliography to help anyone who might be interested in following up on some of my sources or conclusions. I’m not at a point where I’ll have this ready soon, but watch out for that in the future.

Until then, thanks for reading and stay tuned for more on the Chilean Revolutionary process in the 1970s!

--

--