Working for Chilindo in Vietnam — Part I

Chilindo
Chilindo
Published in
5 min readMar 2, 2018

This time last year, it was just a mere dream to expand Chilindo.com to Vietnam, the lucrative and rapidly growing e-commerce market in Southeast Asia.

6 months later down the line on August 2017 the dream came true and we successfully opened our new branch in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam with just 2 employees. Today, we have 232 employees working in different departments from Customer Service to IT to Purchasing.

Needless to say, we’ve grown very quickly and are excited for our continuous journey towards our goal of strengthening our connection to our users across the region and our pursuit to become the world’s best e-commerce auction-site.

So, what is it like being a part of an industry revolution?

We spoke to few of our Vietnam employees to get a first-hand account about what it’s like to work for Chilindo in Vietnam and what excites them about the future of our company.

Here’s a rapid fire questionnaire where they shell out some fun secrets..

Q. What do you enjoy most about your job?

Pham Hoang Lan (Lana), Product Description Writer: Having a chance to learn (EVERYDAY), from practicing my English to exploring a whole new world of product features. I always have an amazing time learning about products and describing them on my own creative ways.

Do Ha Vi (Hanavee), Recruitment Executive: Working environment is friendly, modern and active. It makes my job most enjoyable.

Nguyen Ho Phuong (Tracy), Warehouse Agent: Opportunity to work for successful company with friendly and helpful colleagues. It’s WiN-WIN ;)

Le Thi My Hang (Moon), Customer Service Team Leader: The fact that I am being able to do the job that I desire the most: Customer Support. I find pleasure in Chilindo’s customers satisfaction; it’s very rewarding.

Q. Are you excited about the future of the company?

Pham Hoang Lan (Lana), Product Description Writer: The question reminds me of a saying: If you want to go fast, go alone; If you want to go far, go together. I believe sustainable development is the principle of any companies, especially start-ups, and building from the “bricks” of can-do spirit, investing time and effort into your own jobs would be the lift and leverage to further steps on success ladder. Fortunately, I can feel that positive attitude when working at Chilindo, which, I believe, will definitely determine the company’s future.

Do Ha Vi (Hanavee), Recruitment Executive: Yes, of course. In the near future I am sure Chilindo will be much more bigger and successful than it is now. We have enthusiastic people with amazing teamwork spirit and that’s the key to success. So, what we need to do now is keep connecting and growing together. We will run together, fast but not furious LOL.

Nguyen Ho Phuong (Tracy), Warehouse Agent: Definitely YES. I love the working environment at Chilindo, here we have the friendliest colleagues who are very confident and excited about our future.

Le Thi My Hang (Moon), Customer Service Team Leader: YES! Chilindo is one of the fastest growing ecommerce companies in SEA. We started with only 10 Customer Support agents in September, now (after just 3 months) we are almost 70 people in the team. Recently, our fanpage reached 5 millions LIKES which is an amazing milestone. Chilindo warehouse sends out 4,000 orders (approx. 30,000 items) every single day. Our growth is impressive. I believe that Chilindo will expand more and more in coming years. 2018 we are going to rock you!

Q. Why did you decide to work at Chilindo?

Pham Hoang Lan (Lana), Product Description Writer: It’s not even close to a story, there’s nothing like a “drama” thing haha. If you’d like me to give more details into my applying process, then okay, I’ll tell ya. Actually, I hadn’t heard about Chilindo till I saw the job ad on the internet. An auction platform integrated e-commerce. Hmm, why not doing a little research of my potential company, right? Yup, I did and decided to apply. Soon I had a phone interview and then a face-to-face, and I passed. I thought, okay, working at an e-commerce startup must be fun enough to my life and it’s turned out: so far, so good. Now, looking forward to the future with Chilindo!

Do Ha Vi (Hanavee), Recruitment Executive: I wanted to be the part of a growing startup company and Chilindo was definitely the best choice. What excited me mostly was its bidding technology. Only when the employees are interested in company’s “product” and their “procedure”, they’re ready to dedicate for the company’s development.

Nguyen Ho Phuong (Tracy), Warehouse Agent: I got to know Chilindo through social networks and had interest in company’s approach towards customers, where the development of internet is effectively applied, bringing the convenience to purchasing and selling. That’s why I made my way to join Chilindo.

Working at Chilindo can offer us not only the professional and dynamic environment but also the chance to develop our potential skills, thus together constructing a stable and strong Chilindo with the competitiveness at domestic and international markets.

Le Thi My Hang (Moon), Customer Service Team Leader: I hadn’t known anything about Chilindo until I saw the recruitment advertising online. I started researching about the company and was interested in their business that lets customers decide their own price for the products by bidding. This shopping experience is new in Vietnam market and I knew then that Chilindo was doing something different that has made them stand tall and apart from other ecommerce companies. Without any doubt I applied for this job. During the interview, I had a clear picture about both opportunities and challenges here at Chilindo. I know I made a good decision and my future is bright.

Q. What advice would you give to someone who is thinking about joining Chilindo?

Pham Hoang Lan (Lana), Product Description Writer: Chilindo gives you the opportunity to develop your career good, just come grab it!

Do Ha Vi (Hanavee), Recruitment Executive: Don’t lose your wonderful opportunity!

Nguyen Ho Phuong (Tracy), Warehouse Agent: Join Us now if you are looking for career development.

Le Thi My Hang (Moon), Customer Service Team Leader: Try and prove yourself! Chilindo has everything to offer; the best is: amazing opportunity.

Ready to join Lana, Hanavee, Tracy, Moon and our other 228 Chilindonians? Check our current jobs in Vietnam below:

--

--

Chilindo
Chilindo
Editor for

Bid, Buy, Smile! Launched in 2013, Chilindo is one of Southeast Asia’s fastest growing e­Commerce companies — present in Thailand, China, Malaysia and Thailand.