MEET THE TEAM — JOE GRECH, CRYPTO MARKETING MANAGER

Chiliz
Chiliz
Published in
2 min readOct 2, 2020

One of the original Chilizens, Joe joined the team taking care of esports and social media. The solid foundation in both gave him a sound footing to explore the blockchain and cryptocurrency industries before leading the Community Team and now as the Crypto Marketing Manager. Check out what a typical day is like for Joe.

What do you do as a Crypto Marketing Manager?

My role at Chiliz at the core is to grow our global communities, manage operations and listings on the Chiliz Exchange (as well as listings on 3rd party exchanges) while overseeing the $CHZ marketing strategy in our international markets. I also strategize and execute marketing strategies for the $CHZ English speaking audience.

What’s your background?

My professional background is in technology and esports. From a young age, I was a computer geek & gamer, spending hours building and participating in online communities and learning the ins and outs of popular social media platforms. I was a big fan of forums, helped moderate them and even owned my own at one point.

After discovering blockchain tech and cryptocurrencies in 2017, thanks to a colleague in Finland, I was immediately hooked and made my first crypto purchase (Ethereum) in March 2017. I was spending on average about 12 hours a day in Telegram communities, reading whitepapers, and understanding the technologies in more detail.

What does your average day look like?

Coffee and lots of H2O to stay hydrated, lol. Well, I won’t follow the trend saying ‘no two days are the same’ but my daily tasks vary depending on what’s coming up. I always start the day by catching up on crypto news, crypto twitter and various Telegram groups and communities.

What’s the best part of working at Chiliz?

I’d say the best thing is our family environment. Even with full workloads we still manage to have a laugh with everyone in the office getting on well together.

What’s your favorite part/feature of the Socios.com app/ Chiliz.net?

It probably would be Token Hunt. It’s a core piece of app functionality which really helped with the initial push off the app gaining us our first users.

--

--

Chiliz
Chiliz

We are building the web3 infrastructure for sports and entertainment