The story of Mara & Luna: Feliway’s 30 day challenge

Luna has lived with Mara for 7 years. They have a very special bond as Mara explains: “My family make fun of me because I treat her like a child — I cuddle her, let her fall asleep in my arms she sleeps with me in my bed. I don’t know how I would feel without her. I love her so much.”

Feliway
Chilled Cat
3 min readMay 3, 2016

--

As close as Mara and Luna are, Luna is extremely sensitive to meeting new people and it takes her a long time to trust anyone. Visitors make her extremely scared, unsettled and on-edge and as a result she often ruins Mara’s furniture when escaping or hiding.

Luna’s behaviour isn’t uncommon for cats. Cats like to be in control of their environment. Visitors pose a threat, upsetting both their space and routine. Cats can feel distressed if furniture is moved, doors are closed, there’s additional noise or feeding times are changed.

Introducing Feliway

Distressed by Luna’s behaviour when new people came into the home, Mara decided to try Feliway’s 30 Day Challenge. She plugged in the diffuser in her living room where Luna spends most of her time, ensuring no furniture was blocking the airflow.

With me she has become even more affectionate and attached .

Mara’s first observation was that the odourless diffuser fitted nicely in her room: “It’s cute, it’s not too big — just the right size for the space.”

30 days later…

At the end of the challenge, Mara saw a ‘radical’ change in Luna’s behaviour: “I’ve found her much more relaxed. She welcomes petting when people come over. Now she sniffs them, she lets herself be petted, she sits on the sofa with us and doesn’t scratch the furniture.”

Mara also found that her close bond with Luna got even stronger after the 30 days: “With me she has become even more affectionate and attached . I would recommend Feliway to anyone who has problems with their cats or wants to see them more relaxed.”

You can watch Luna’s story below.

You can also find out more about the stress cats experience when meeting new people on the Feliway website:

--

--