Chingu Weekly 103 — Voyage-16 is coming soon!

Chance McAllister
Chingu
Published in
2 min readJan 27, 2020
From @shashi’s taxi project

News

🎉 Congratulations Voyage-14 teams and members who completed your project MVPs!

🚀 Voyage-16 is starting on February 4th!

Shout-outs & Showcases

🔥@sophia wrote this article 4-Step Strategy to Frame Your Thought Process in a Whiteboard Coding Interview that I highly recommend checking out!

🔥@evgen finished the tier-2 solo project this week. Check it out here!

🔥@shashi built this taxi service site. You can see it here!

Overheard in Chingu

I am a self taught programmer, I am a native arabic speaker, and english is my 3rd language, so forgive me if I do not understand what you are asking me

I am on the road to gain an excellent understanding of HTML, CSS and vanilla javascript. Then Node.js or ruby for the backend. I will learn frameworks once I’ve got a good grasp on the basics.

Why don’t you just stop thinking about the reasons why you need to do it and just do it? XD

I had a bad early experience trying to learn code in the classroom, and developed lots of doubt and fear about pursuing it. A few years ago, I became more brave and decided to give it a try again, on my own terms. I completed the Python course on codeacademy, and felt so excited.

did you guys use React Helmet in this pre-work project?

So you’re what.. Like a small elf or something?

yey, I’m almost done with pre-work project

Making infinity-scroll as a reusable component turned out to be the best decisions ever. That thing is a beast

Resources of the week

From @BtotheMoon:

“Some great free courses for beginners on this site (Mastering Markdown, Command Line Power User, What the Flexbox?!, Javascript30, and CSS Grid). The other courses are paid.”

Quote / meme to go

See you next week!

--

--

Chance McAllister
Chingu
Editor for

Founder @ Chingu. Experience Designer. Lifelong learner. Teacher. Runner. Reader. Insatiably curious. Apply here: chingu.io