Chingu Weekly Vol. 89 — the final stretch for Voyage-9!!

Chance McAllister
Chingu
Published in
2 min readJul 8, 2019
Photo by Randy Fath on Unsplash

📣 Voyage-9 is heading into the final stretch!!!

📣 Reminder: The next Voyage pre-work will start in mid-August.

🎉 Congratulations @Mister_Ty on the scholarship!!!

Shout-outs & Showcases

🔥 Check out this cool Pet Finder app by @mecozma!

🔥 Have a look at the code for this React tic-tac-toe project by @alison!

🔥 Here’s a landing page project by @ethanvernon!

🔥Check out this Pomodoro app by @jnmorse!

🔥 Also by @jnmorse: here is a CLI to find eslint rules not currently in use, or are deprecated!

Overheard in Chingu

had pair programmed to complete styling of the project

I made a meal planner just for personal use. And I just started to use and found some issues that I want to change. GREAT START! :)

Finished α version of ToDo list in v9-toucans-team-05!

I learned a LOT about webpack this week. I’ve been setting up projects without create-react-app to learn how my tools work better. I also learned a lot about how to set up a Node app on AWS.

Uploaded all assets, made asset pr, started working on the navbar components

completed MVP (Atomist landing page)

I got a scholarship

We’ve finished the last sections of our page

I built my first selecting button effect on React

The project is basically done. As an ongoing project I will add more features, some important as setting accounts for the users (one for volunteers, another for hosters). Last week I tried to transfer the project from heroku to A.W.S. with Docker and Travis, but I failed, though the docker containers in the dev. environment worked fine.

Resources of the week

posted by: @jnmorse

That’s it for this week!

--

--

Chance McAllister
Chingu
Editor for

Founder @ Chingu. Experience Designer. Lifelong learner. Teacher. Runner. Reader. Insatiably curious. Apply here: chingu.io