Overheard in the Chingu coding cohorts pt. 4

Some random lines taken out of context from the Chingu cohorts!

Chance McAllister
Chingu
2 min readJul 3, 2017

--

Like I said “AI will take our programming jobs” is just chatter to distract from studying. A good developer brings more to the table than the code they will write on a project.

“If I quit now, I will soon be back to where I started. And when I started I was desperately wishing to be where I am now.”

it’s actually amazing how long i’ll forget to feed myself when i get too sucked into coding……

Happened to me a few days ago! I started coding as soon as I got up and accidentally skipped breakfast and lunch. I love it when I get in the zone though so it’s worth it.

hungover

Coding meetups are fun! It took me a while to work up the courage to finally go to one, but I had a great time and have been going to them more regularly lately. It’s refreshing to be able to talk to people who actually understand what you’re going through. Normally when I try to tell someone (i.e. my wife) about an algorithm or a bug I just solved, I just get an “oh that’s nice, honey”. The struggle is real haha

[on different frameworks] Just try em all, it is like wands in wizard world, “they choose you”

Been reading YDKJS (finished book 1) and coding every bit of chance I got while moving. Excited to be getting back into it!

I would end up in the emergency room having broken one or more limbs if I tried to run on the elliptical while studying.

This might sound crazy and out of context :sweat_smile: Apologies, but I just had to share this :hand: Today, I did some meditation and I was swept by this serene feeling of satisfaction and self appreciation after contemplating my coding journey so far. It’s not about the accomplishments or the knowledge (I’m still waaaay far behind in that aspect, but hey: I ain’t stopping :muscle:) It’s more about the persistence and the willingness to continue despite the fact that everything in my life (yep! literally) is pushing me to give up. I’m proud of myself (no boasting, just some needed self appreciation :D). I just wanted to say this so that if there someone else who’s in the same position as me: know that you’re not alone and we ain’t stopping!

got my first paid freelance GIG!!!

LOL So much disrespect for PHP. Btw, I’m running out of wits and letters of the alphabet for variables solving this *vigenere.c* problem!

--

--

Chance McAllister
Chingu

Founder @ Chingu. Experience Designer. Lifelong learner. Teacher. Runner. Reader. Insatiably curious. Apply here: chingu.io