Which part of the story are you telling me?

Startup Cycling: 37/120

2 min readMay 14, 2016

--

On March 30th, 2016, I joined Thomas Despin to cross the United States from New York to San Francisco by bicycle. One of our common objective is to improve our discipline, by making every day, for 120 days. He makes videos, I write articles.

I meet startup founders on the road from New York City to San Francisco. I met one today again. I ask them questions about success, entrepreneurship and work-life balance. Their answers and messages are always inspiring.

Tonight as I was about writing the article of the day, I didn’t know what topic to cover. I thought about different theme, unable to write on any of them. I wasn’t inspired.

Suddenly, something strikes me.

It isn’t about being inspired, it is about making it sounds inspiring.

People tell stories all the time. Are they precise, real, complete? Either are they partial, fictionalized, incomplete?

When I am listening to those entrepreneurs I meet, I think about each of their testimony as something inspiring. As if I am attracted by the story more than the words. As if I want to keep in mind a powerful insight instead of the up and down which serve no purpose.

We are all interested in stories. And we are all telling stories. To ourselves and to others.

We may think we are perfectly true, but we aren’t. Because we can’t. We choose what we tell.

Stories are a combination of perception and message. They are not made to be true, they are made to be hear.

If not, what would we even speak? We live in our stories each time we tell them.

So I have another question in mind:

Which part of the story are you telling me?

Press on ❤ if you ❤ it!

This article is originally published on Startup Cycling.

You can support us here!

--

--