New Year, New…really again with this?

@chloesfruit
Brain Freeze
Published in
3 min readJan 1, 2018

Three weeks ago, coincidentally the day after Hannukah, my nine year old son said to me as he jumped out of bed dressed and raring to go at 6:45AM, “I’m so excited!”

No more presents, I thought, what is he so damn excited about?! Usually, I don’t question his enthusiasm, but I had to know what was on his mind. “I get my math test back today, we have vacation coming up and we are going on a great trip and are going to be with the family! I’m so psyched,” he said.

As New Years approached, I wondered, could my nine year old be on to something? I mean he rarely remembers to brush his teeth, wear a jacket or what day it is, but he approaches everything with an excitement that is contagious. Maybe I can simply flip a switch and approach the daily grind as a series of adventures as he does….

Nah, bah humbug.

New Year, New….who really believes this crap anyway?

I don’t mean to sound like a pessimist — but really? Are we going to fall into the New Year, New You trap again? Can I really avoid yelling at the kids for not flushing the toilet (it’s really not that hard) or not making their beds? Can I resist sneaking gummy bears at 10PM after the kids have FINALLY called it a night?

I kinda feel like I can’t. Sad but true.

But as I recall the early morning scene with my son, I am feeling inspired and poised for change.

So here goes — my resolutions this year are:

· Exercise more patience

· Live more in the moment and less in the “10 minutes from now”

· Nibble less post dinner

· Go to more museums and more soup kitchens

· Sleep more

I don’t think it’s such a daunting list. It should be doable and despite a less than impressive New Year’s resolution track record, I’m going to approach this New Year with all the enthusiasm, optimism and gratitude and that it deserves.

So let’s do this New Year thing….

After all 18 is my lucky number!

I’ll keep you posted….

Happy New Year, New Everything!

Xoxo Chloe

Brain Freeze is a series of stories by parents that celebrates the candid moments in which their children ask the most unexpected questions. The series is sponsored by Chloe’s Fruit, a brand of frozen treats made from only three ingredients: fruit, water, and a touch of organic cane sugar. Follow Brain Freeze for more stories, and sign up to receive coupons for Chloe’s in your inbox.

--

--

@chloesfruit
Brain Freeze

Chloe's Fruit™ makes clean, delicious frozen snacks made with just fruit, water and a touch of organic cane sugar.