The Mindful Mom

@chloesfruit
Brain Freeze
Published in
4 min readApr 12, 2018

By: Alexandra Bonetti

My apartment in NYC is never empty. Spend a few hours with me on my couch and you’ll see anywhere between 4–10 people come in and out of my front door — Bari employees and Talent Hack consultants working on projects, press interviews and photoshoots in my living room, my sister sneaking in a lunch break, my cousin who just got into town and needs a place to store his suitcase, friends who happen to be in the neighborhood, my mom stopping by to see the baby, dog walkers, deliveries, and the list goes on and on…

And then, of course, there’s Joaquin. My 18 month old son who is very much enjoying the newfound freedom that comes from being able to explore the world on two legs and fill any rare moments of silence with his exceptional vocals. My silly, playful, loving, constantly-evolving son who, amongst all the noise, people, and chaos, still manages to be the center of all of our universes.

Alexandra Bonetti and son, Joaquin

My apartment is my nuclear family’s home. My extended family’s favorite place to reunite. My office for my two businesses. And my son’s world.

All to say, there’s a lot going on under one roof(!), including the growing of one business (Bari), the launching of another (Talent Hack), the raising of my first baby boy (Joaquin), and the (literal, 6 months pregnant) growing of my second baby boy (Mateo), and I know many people would spend an hour with me on my couch and wonder how anything could ever possibly get done…

Of course there are certain things I do every day to stay balanced, energized, focused, and sane, and chances are you’ve read enough healthy living blogs to know what those are (meditation, intention-setting, exercising, and eating clean are my non-negotiables). But, more than anything, I remind myself that this is the life I’ve chosen, the life I’ve actively created. That these businesses are my passion, these people are my tribe, and this chaos is the fuel that keeps all of our worlds spinning.

Yes, it’s important to get quiet, reflective, and nurturing, I’m an avid vedic meditator and can safely say it’s what keeps me levelheaded. But it’s also important to step back and look at the life you have created, no matter how loud, messy, and chaotic it may be, and lean into it. Lean into the never-ending to-dos and meetings, lean into the constantly-revolving open-door policy, lean into the growing family, and see where that energy takes you.

I like to think of it as a step beyond a gratitude practice. Thank you for this loud, messy, chaotic life I have chosen. Where will you take me today?

About the Author

Alexandra is an entrepreneur in the wellness space. A former consultant, Wharton grad and exercise fanatic, Alexandra left her consulting career to dive into the wellness space and never looked back. In pursuit of a workout unicorn — you know, one that was too good to exist — Alexandra committed herself to researching and developing a fun, addictive and effective workout, one she’d want to return to again and again. Eager to share her findings with like-minded fitness enthusiasts, Bari was born. This year she launched a fitness tech start up, Talent Hack, the first ever job search site and community hub for the fitness industry. Alexandra lives in New York City with her husband Jorge, their baby Joaquin, their pup Yoshi, and are welcoming another baby boy this summer.

Brain Freeze is a series of stories by parents that celebrates the candid moments in which their children ask the most unexpected questions. The series is sponsored by Chloe’s Fruit, a brand of frozen treats made from only three ingredients: fruit, water, and a touch of organic cane sugar.

--

--

@chloesfruit
Brain Freeze

Chloe's Fruit™ makes clean, delicious frozen snacks made with just fruit, water and a touch of organic cane sugar.