Quarantine Day 3 in South Korea: The Importance of being Grateful

Donovan Loomis
Choose to Rise
Published in
3 min readMar 26, 2020

The fear of the virus is far more contagious than corona. Last night we received word that we would have to get tested for #Coronavirus within the next few days. Didn’t sleep well. In quarantine at my home in Korea, I woke up early at 5 AM and stood looking out at the darkness. The test still weighed on my mind but I also looked forward to experiencing the world famous drive thru testing. Seriously debating asking the testers for a side of fries. But then I remembered! Start with gratitude.

I’m grateful for this breath, for this heartbeat.

I’m grateful for the love and care from my family.

I’m grateful for the love from my girlfriend’s mom as she sends us groceries.

I’m grateful for today.

I’m grateful I can pay utilities this month.

I’m grateful that I got my order of kefir in before the online store closed.

I’m grateful the stores in Korea didn’t run out of toilet paper.

I’m grateful that I’m in quarantine with a wonderful person.

Suddenly the fear washed away and I felt at peace. I firmly believe gratitude needs to be part of the fight against the virus. We have so much to be grateful for these days, even in quarantine. To be fair I’m in the same boat as many of you. Even more so having learned that our flight had a passenger who tested positive for the corona virus. Just like you, I have plenty to be afraid of, and many reasons to feel fearful as a person with a compromised immune system. What do we really gain if we let the fear consume us?

More stress

Increased health risk

Depression

More Fear

Depressed Economy

Compare that to what you get with gratitude!

Peaceful heart.

Calmer mind.

Sense of purpose.

Self Empowerment.

Positive Energy.

Most importantly, Hope!

Life is too short to be consumed by fear. Maybe this comes from being chronically ill my entire adult life, but I don’t fear death. I want to appreciate life. I want to live and breath gratitude and embrace the joy that is life. Just a few minutes of gratitude this morning changed my day for the better. I have hope for a better future. I have energy to write this blog, I am filled with joy and excitement for the day, that I am blessed to enjoy.

Please take a moment to be grateful today and everyday. You are blessed with that breath you just took. That heartbeat just now was a gift. Today is a wonderful present. There are so many little things to be grateful for, so don’t miss a single one.

Now, more than ever, its time for us all to take the time to find the good in our lives. Be grateful.

Love from Quarantine

--

--

Donovan Loomis
Choose to Rise
0 Followers
Editor for

Bacon King of S. Korea😋 Lyme Disease Survivor Evolving into a better person Gratitude Challenge: What are you grateful for today? Share! @donovanloomis