Quarantine Day 4 in South Korea: Lyme Disease and How Korea Saved My Life.

Donovan Loomis
Choose to Rise
Published in
4 min readMar 26, 2020

November 2012, I stood on the welcome mat of Death, the door invitingly open. I am a Lyme Disease Survivor. Today I stand alive, well, and hopeful for a better future. I have yet to return to the life I had before Lyme struck. However, I continue forward. I have a thriving bacon business and I have a future in front of me. Maybe someday I will share the story of that struggle but for now I want to share how Korea helped me afford the health care I needed to treat Lyme’s Disease.

Beginning in 2019 I was a Korean Government Scholarship student with a monthly stipend of less than $1,000. I liked to joke that I was below the poverty line in both countries but fortunately I had some savings and insurance and lived a monk-like existence. Diagnosed with Lyme in 2010 though likely contracted through tick bites in 2006 or 2008, I spent the next 2 years visiting a hospital every week. Lyme was unheard of in Korea at that time with less than a hundred cases. I had dual treatment with a Doctor in the US and another in Korea. Many thanks to my mom and dad working so hard to help me from afar.

Korean healthcare actually works. America’s health care is still broken. Health care costs in Korea are very upfront, clear, and fair. Health care costs in America are ambiguous, mystical labyrinth-like, and extortionate. With insurance I received 3 month’s of one type of antibiotics for $20 which would have cost me $2,000 in USA. Without Korean insurance my meds would have only been an extra $20. How insane is that?

Life Saving Meds: Korea $20 vs. USA $2,000

I needed a second tonsillectomy (first botched one is another story) so I found an American trained Korean doctor, all included $800 without insurance and $500 with insurance. The average cost of a tonsillectomy in USA is over $8,000 dollars.

Improved Quality of Life Surgery: Korea $500 vs. USA $8,000+

Weekly I needed to do blood tests and see a doctor. With insurance to see a doctor at a clinic cost me $5 or $15 if I went to a University Hospital. Even without it would have cost at most $20 at the time.

Weekly Doctor Visit: Korea $5 vs USA $120

I needed blood tests about every other week.

Blood Tests: Korea $10–15 vs USA $150–300

I had two Lyme Disease Blood tests, one in California and one in Korea. Unfortunately you need to take this blood test 2–3 times because it may return a negative result even if you have the disease. Thankfully the quality of the test has improved since 2010.

Lyme Disease Curse Test: Korea Free* vs USA $500

At first the test was $50 but every yearly test after that was free because the government decided Lyme Disease needed to be researched. Thank you Korea for caring! USA? Finally acceptance is growing but in 2010 so much denial.

Oh Joy! Hospital Stays! Yes they suck just as much as USA but soooooo much cheaper.

Hospital Stay per day: Korea $150–500 vs USA $4,800+

I did this for over two years. I spent more time in the hospital than my grandparents in the their entire 90 years of blessed life. Oh and lets not forget that for whatever reason I needed varicocele surgery. It wasn’t enough that I lost my strength, energy, and future. Beaten to the ground, even something Boots the cat from back home wouldn’t even drag back home, life decided that a good swift kick to the balls was needed. Thankfully I could get surgery for that while I was at it.

Varicocelectomy: Korea $1,000 vs USA $6,500 +

I could go on and on about the huge difference in price for affordable health care. But I think the most important thing I can do is first, be grateful! I am immensely grateful to Korea for helping me get on my feet when I needed it the most. 8 years later after a successful treatment I am contributing back to the health care system with my taxes and still enjoy great health care.

I never could have afforded this in America and it would have bankrupted my family. But Korea gave me what my own country couldn't, a functional, affordable, and lifesaving health care.

The great thing is you too, even as a tourist can benefit from Korea’s health care.

I hope that I can help you find the quality of life that want to enjoy through the healthcare you deserve.

Follow me as I share more about my health care experiences and help you along the way. Got a question? Ask away!

--

--

Donovan Loomis
Choose to Rise
0 Followers
Editor for

Bacon King of S. Korea😋 Lyme Disease Survivor Evolving into a better person Gratitude Challenge: What are you grateful for today? Share! @donovanloomis