April 2019 update

Chris Ballard
Chris Fighting Cancer
2 min readApr 15, 2019

tl;dr, everything is great.

Bloodwork is overall good, no sign of any cancer in my blood. My immune numbers are still low, Notably my IgG which hovers around 450. I think this takes a long time to rebuild. Kidney numbers are heading in the wrong direction, but I’m still well within the normal range. One really strange thing from my Metabolic Panel was that my blood glucose was only 79mg/dL. I had eaten a TON of carbs that day, and this number is lower than any that I can remember (including ones when I had been fasting). I’m eagerly awaiting the next one. The nurse said that she wasn’t worried about it because I didn’t have any symptoms (low energy).

IgG still low
Light Chains looking perfect
Creatinine creeping up (bad), eGFR creeping down (also bad), but still in normal range

I got my port removed! I’m so happy about that. The scar is still healing, but I was able to do a workout with no issue this past weekend. I would occasionally think to myself, “I don’t really feel like a cancer patient,” and then I’d touch my port and be reminded. Now I can’t do that anymore. I guess I’ll have to just be normal now.

I got vaccines last week, including Shingrix — the new Shingles vaccine. That one knocked me on my butt. I got the shot Monday evening, and I couldn’t do anything on Tuesday. I was going to go to the ER, but decided to sleep on it, and Wednesday was better. I’m due one more dose of this in a few months, and I’m definitely going to do that on a Friday.

I went to Montreal for work this month, and we have a huge European trip lined up in May. Looking forward to that one!

Next step, Doc appointment in July to see my oncologist.. I will also go in to get bloodwork (through my vein!!!!!) in the first week of May and June.

My dogs continue to be the biggest source of joy in my life. I’m going to start sharing the love a bit more here:

Hoagie (top), Pickle (bot). BFFs

--

--