Being Oblivious can be Helpful

Chris Hargreaves
chris hargreaves
Published in
2 min readFeb 18, 2017

I don’t consider myself oblivious to much that happens around me.

In fact, if anything I’m probably hypersensitive.

on the bus talking

That’s great for things like avoiding walking backwards into people at the shops and seeing drivers doing stupid things before they affect me.

It’s less helpful when I’m trying to focus on something though — being aware of every discussion, thud, potential for injury (with the kids) and possible delivery arriving at the door can make it difficult to concentrate.

I always have a hint of envy as I watch people who can manage to tune out the world around them to such an extent that conversations go unheard, events go unseen, and they are left in the solitude of their own mental palace to function entirely on the task before them.

But then, being oblivious can be a sign of arrogance too. An indication that you consider yourself and your own tasks to be greater than those around you.

You miss out on people’s lives if you are too often stuck inside your head.

You don’t learn deeper things about people and the world if you never observe them and listen to them happening around you.

So even while focus has such a tangible benefit and is a necessary talent to cultivate, those who have it must also be cautious not to become insular and distant.

Originally published at Chris Hargreaves.

--

--

Chris Hargreaves
chris hargreaves

Author, blogger, speaker, lawyer. Mostly sane, and attempting to keep things positive.