My Twitter hiatus and why I shut down this blog

Chris Leckness
Chris Leckness
Published in
3 min readFeb 9, 2011

Last night, I posted a test post to ensure everything still worked after I brought the site back online after having it forwarded to a landing page. Well, Twitter worked but Facebook didn’t. Everything else went well. When I made that post, I promised a follow post on why I took it offline after 5 years. Well, here it is…

1st off, why did I quit Twitter?
I haven’t really decided if I will quit for good, but some things have transpired over the last few months that make it where I feel I can’t be myself on Twitter any longer. I don’t really want to put it out here where everyone can see, but I feel that I can’t really use Twitter how I’d like to anymore. I can’t put out the good without throwing in the bad comments about certain products and services. If I can’t have it both ways, I should just shut up. I might pop back on after my 1 month, self imposed ban and read here and there, but for now, I am calling it quits. Posts I make from this blog will still be piped into my Twitter channel, but I won’t be commenting on replies on Twitter. It’s not as simple and saying “Screw it, I’m going to say whatever I want” either. It’s kinda complicated.

It’s not just Twitter.
I have also decided to discontinue use of some other social media sites as well. Foursquare is the main one. Foursquare has no real use in my life. Do any of you really care where me and my family are eating? I didn’t think so.

Why did I shut this blog down?
Truth be told, it was an impulsive act that coincided with my decision to quit on Twitter. I decided since I can’t blog about mobile tech anymore, I need to distance myself from the past. The Aximsite years were awesome, but I am not a journalist, I am not a current site owner/admin, I left the Microsoft MVP program, I can’t blog about mobile any more, and I am no longer a part of the mobile community, so there is no real reason to hang out on twitter anymore. There also is no reason to operate a personal blog anymore since I can share on Facebook. I am also trying to privatize my life a little since I am no longer any of those things. Short and simple version is that I am not important enough to really have more than Facebook to share on.

It’s back online now, why?
Simple. I missed having a place to bitch and complain that I control. My own piece of the internet. Facebook is cool and all, but I don’t own my own content there. Here I do. Not to mention, making $2–3/day with 1 single ad doesn’t hurt. It’s not gonna pay for devices, but it almost covers the server (although another site here I host for a friend covers that already). I have so many gripes and complaints I want to share that I needed to have this back online. I might not have much to say about mobile here anymore, but I will have some things to say.

Should I change the site’s domain again? Maybe www.talesfromawashedupcommunityleaderthatnolongerhasavoice.com?

--

--

Chris Leckness
Chris Leckness

Mobile Tech | #USNavy #Veteran #Falcons Fan | #Bama Fan | #Vaper | Husband | Father | #Gamer — #Hearthstone #Gwent AKA Torlaan or Drayner.