New Toy: 2017 Harley Davidson Heritage Softail

Chris Leckness
Chris Leckness
Published in
1 min readJun 21, 2017

I wanted a new toy (work vehicle) and my wife talked me into a brand new bike instead of a used one this time around.

My last Harley was a 2008 XL1200R Sportster 1200 Roadster. I ended up getting rid of it because I wasn’t riding it enough to justify it in my garage and because it was a little too small for a big guy like me.

The one I picked out was the 2017 Heritage Softail Classic. It’s got a big enough engine and looks awesome. The main reason I chose this model over the Road King is the colors. This color scheme is not available on the Road King and the Heritage just looks so old school!

The Heritage Softail® Classic drips with the nostalgia of days gone by, but that’s only half of the equation for the rider of today. The hidden suspension gives you the authentic look without the bone-shaking ride of an old Hardtail. You get the comfort of cruise control for those long stretches of pavement. A redesigned seat and redesigned leather saddlebags. And best of all, the High Output Twin Cam 103B™ engine. We’re not about to re-invent this look. But we never stop re-inventing the ride.

This is how the bike came to me. It has a passenger seat and backrest.

My wife said she’d never ride on it so I removed the seat and backrest. This is how it looks today.

I will add a photo gallery to this post soon!

--

--

Chris Leckness
Chris Leckness

Mobile Tech | #USNavy #Veteran #Falcons Fan | #Bama Fan | #Vaper | Husband | Father | #Gamer — #Hearthstone #Gwent AKA Torlaan or Drayner.