Tuscaloosa Tornado Experience

Chris Leckness
Chris Leckness
Published in
4 min readApr 28, 2011

So, I live in Tuscaloosa, Alabama. I grew up here and moved away for 9 years while I was in the US Navy. Shortly after returning to Tuscaloosa, I was working for Bellsouth as an outside tech when one of the worst Tornadoes that ever came through Tuscaloosa hit. It happened down in the area I currently live in, the 69 south area. Luckily, I didn’t live there at the time. Working for Bellsouth, we worked long hours for quite some time getting things fixed up out there. It was the 7th most deadly tornado in Alabama history until yesterday. The one that hit Tuscaloosa yesterday, along with tornadoes in Cordova and Phil Campbell, knocked that Dec 2000 tornado down to 10th on the list. Yesterday’s tornado in Tuscaloosa is no tied for #1 as the most deadly tornado in Alabama history according to ABC 33/40’s Weather blog. This is likely to change to a standalone #1 spot after the death toll is final. This is scary and sad and has my wife ready to move away from Tuscaloosa.

Almost 2 weeks ago, our neigborhood was hit with another tornado that destroyed my kids batting cage and swing set. It damaged several other things including my roof. I still have a large tarp covering most of my roof while I wait on State Farm to come out to look at it.

[caption id=”attachment_34030" align=”alignnone” width=”300"]

My son’s swing set all crumpled up![/caption]

[caption id=”attachment_34031" align=”alignnone” width=”300"]

Mother Nature doesn’t want us to have this…[/caption]

[caption id=”attachment_34029" align=”alignnone” width=”300"]

This is part of my roof damage[/caption]

2 weeks ago, I was not home and when power went out and I was an hour away (in Greensboro, Al) without any contact with my wife and kids, I was terrified. I heard on the radio that a tornado hit down near Shelton State and my heart dropped. I was able to get home and luckily nobody was injured and we only had damage to our home.

Yesterday, I happened to be off work taking care of some plumbing issues. Luckily we didn’t have any damage or scare really. I was outside watching the sky when the devastating twister dropped into the middle of town. I think I have the tornado on video from afar, but was unable to check it out yet since we were out power until 5am today.

Thanks to all my friends and family that reached out via Twitter, Facebook, and text messages to see that we were ok. It really feels good to know that so many care. Thanks!

Sad times for many in Tuscaloosa today. I urge anyone that wants to donate to the Red Cross to do so. Thanks to Greg McElroy for tweeting info on how to help today too!

Here are some scary videos of yesterday’s twisters:

[embedyt] http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FRGkCZmjVXI[/embedyt]

[embedyt] http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ohIVzIZLuQ[/embedyt]

For some ABC 33/40 Viewer photos, check out this slide show.

The Crimson White has a list of confirmed buildings that are damaged or destroyed. Milo’s, one of my favorites is destroyed. Click the link to see what buildings they have confirmed as damaged, here’s their list of destroyed buildings:

  • Forest Lake houses
  • Smoothie King
  • Honey Baked Ham
  • Express Oil Change
  • Steakout
  • Milo’s
  • Krispy Kreme
  • Replays

I wanted to cruise by that area last night to check it out myself, but I just couldn’t bring myself into being “that guy”. I didn’t want to get in the way of rescue workers and other crews. I probably won’t get over there for a few days in fact. I did visit the Regions in the University Mall parking lot a few hours before it was hit. I sure hope the check I deposited was entered into the computer before.

Thanks again to everyone that checked in on us and please pray for those affected by this terrible tornado.

--

--

Chris Leckness
Chris Leckness

Mobile Tech | #USNavy #Veteran #Falcons Fan | #Bama Fan | #Vaper | Husband | Father | #Gamer — #Hearthstone #Gwent AKA Torlaan or Drayner.