Who do you look up to?

I Don’t Know — Yet

Chris Spiegl
Chris Spiegl
Published in
3 min readDec 11, 2017

--

I am not successful. At least not judging by my own scale. And yet many people, who see my work and what I have been able to put into this world over the past few years, would argue against that. But when do I give in? When is it OK to see myself as successful and is it even necessary?

Yesterday I watched a talk by Casey Neistat at Haste & Hustle (Casey Neistat: How to be Heard). He’s this inspiring personality, badass vlogger, and incredibly creative all around. In his talk, he mainly focused on his life story. How he went from virtually nothing to an HBO Show, to silly YouTube videos and advertising deals with companies like Nike and Samsung, all the way to his tech-startup Beme and it’s first failure but the following success in being sold to CNN for a lot of money.

“The comfort that I take in looking back in what brought me in this position of success? It was the fact that I never had an idea what I was doing. And now instead of being scared of that, I embrace it. I hold it as close to me as I possibly can.”
~
Casey Neistat

It’s this quote that stuck out to me the most. It’s something I struggle with a lot. It’s the learning experience that I have to actually put something out there for people to see and interact with it. And there is a level of comfort in not knowing what they might think. But that doesn’t help!

I just recently launched DomainWatch and I am about to launch multiple other projects (namely PushNotice.chat & WriterSprints). In all of these projects, I have the same answer that Casey gives to CEOs when they ask him how he intends to do something: “I don’t know 🤷‍♂️.” and I’d like to add a YET to that sentence.

It’s becoming a new mantra. I don’t know where I will go with most of my projects, articles, videos, and photos. I just know that I have to make, create, and publish. So that others can experience, connect, and build on top of it. If I stay hidden? There’ll never be growth.

“When I look to what’s next, I see more opportunity and more possibility in my career than ever before.”
~
Casey Neistat

Looking back at the last 10 years, I recognize that all of my experiences were necessary. I had to go through the life that I had to come to where I am now. But now I have the opportunity to take even more responsibility. To learn that hiding away is not an option. That we are the creators of our own possibilities — even when we have no idea where we are headed or how we might get there.

I don’t know — YET!

Thanks for reading! :) If you enjoyed it, hit that clap button below. Would mean a lot to me and it helps other people see the story.

You would like to follow my stories, thoughts, and ideas? Then please subscribe to my newsletter at MakeItYour.LIFE/newsletter.

Originally published at makeityour.life on December 11, 2017.

--

--

Chris Spiegl
Chris Spiegl

Creator & Consultant. Find me online & offline. It always depends.