A Real American Hero

Professor Mark Crawford’s journey from West Point to public service to education

Webbhughes
The Green Light
4 min readMar 30, 2022

--

If you have a question about the U.S. government, Professor Mark Crawford is your man.

My AP Government class has been one of the most enjoyable classes of my high school career. I have learned a lot about the history of government and politics in the United States in an extremely professional manner. This is thanks to my great teacher Professor Crawford. When I first met Professor Crawford, I only knew him as my AP Gov teacher, but after a recent Q and A I learned that he is much more than a great educator.

Mr. Crawford was born and raised in Black Mountain NC and attended Owen high school. After excelling in academics and athletics in high school he received a nomination to attend West Point. It was an opportunity he could not pass up. After four successful years at West Point, he was on active Duty as a US army officer for ten years and is a Desert Storm Veteran (82nd ABN DIV.)

While most would be happy here, Professor Crawford was destined for more. Just four months after leaving the military, he attended graduate school at the University of Florida where he earned his master’s degree in political science. Shortly after graduating, Professor Crawford began his journey as a politician in North Carolina.

  1. What was it about West Point? I was fascinated with American History. A lot of men in the history books graduated from there so I naturally became interested. In seventh grade was the first time I knew I wanted to attend West Point.

2. What did you learn from West Point and serving? Leadership, which is their main goal. I was surprised by the rigor of West Point in the classroom. I would even say it exceeds the Ivy league schools.

3. What got you into politics? I always had an interest in politics. I followed it throughout high school. I was into politics from a young age. I always wanted to be in public service. I never lost the desire to serve.

4. What positions in politics did you serve? I helped the Party in which I represented. I served in the House of Representatives for the state but not federal.

5. What were some of your core values as a politician? Everything I chose to support or not had to pass the constitutional litmus test. US and NC test. If it wasn’t constitutional, I was going to be opposed to it. I enjoyed serving on the education committee. I always wanted to have fiscal responsibility. I always fought for environmental causes like the clean smokestacks bill. Naturally I was always invested in veterans’ affairs.

6. How long have you been teaching? I consider my teaching days to have begun in the 90s. I consider myself a teacher for all of 26 years. Eleven years at the university (Western Carolina). I’m in my 3rd year at Christ School. I spent 13 years as a substitute teacher in the Buncombe County school system.

Professor Crawford teaching his AP Government class at Christ School.

7. What are your core values of being a teacher? I try to keep politics out of it. My entire intent is to provide the best education possible to all my students about government and politics. I’m very intent upon education without trying to sway students.

8. One common theme in all your professions has been giving back to your country, where did you gain that sense of Patriotism? The way I was raised, core values I was brought up with from my father and mother. My grandfather served in WWII and served in the Korean War. My father's father was muster as a cadet at the Citadel into active duty in WWI.

Professor Crawford is one of the best in the business when it comes to teaching students about our government in the United States.

9. You have accomplished a lot; is there any other professions or activities you would like to try?

Well, as you know I’ve already served in the military. I’ve been a teacher for give or take a little a quarter of a century, 25 seasons as a coach. I have already been a small businessman, that was my job before teaching at Western Carolina University. Umm, I’m trying to think of what else I could be. I’m quite content with the service I have completed already.

--

--

Webbhughes
The Green Light
0 Followers

Local student athlete at Christ School in Arden NC. https://medium.com/@webbhughes22